We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal”

Nielsen Bros Market & Deli
Ranked #74 of 156 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“ideal”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This place meets a need for those who want to bring food back to their room. We ordered sandwiches made on the spot and got some drinks for our hike.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank garjog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    26
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice folks, all necessary breakfast and lunch provisions here!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Conveniently located small-town market with a surprising selection of assorted bitters and cocktail mixes!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LatinoGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Universal City
Level Contributor
124 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We walked by the Market at lunchtime and noticed an employee outside grilling big beef hot dogs, beef kabobs, steaks for a sandwich on french bread, etc. I had the beef kabob and it was better than my steak at Flaherty's. Four huge chunks of beef for $7. what a deal! We munched. The beef was tender and so tasty. If I lived there I would eat there all the time. My friend has the steak sandwich and it was delicious too. They offered about 7 different selections. They need to add outdoor seating and get a license to drink beer or wine on premises. We ate our food on the go with a bag of chips and water. I can still taste that Kabob.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank April G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Near Coachman's Inn”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This market has been there as long as I can remember. It's an easy walk from both Coachman's Inn and Ocean Avenue. My husband would go off to the golf course with buddies and I would walk around Carmel in the morning ending up at this market for a good deli sandwiches to take to my room or the patio at Coachman's Inn.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vine999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Next to the Coachman's Inn”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is an example of a high end Italian deli and small market. Breakfast sandwiches, hot and tasty, or made to order. The place to get your picnic supplies before a day at Point Lobos.
Just two doors down from the Coachman's Inn, one of my favorite overnights in cozy Carmel.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ScodemacVacaville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nielsen Bros Market & Deli also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Nielsen Bros Market & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing