We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pleasant Suprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmel Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carmel Village Inn
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pleasant Suprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

I booked in here mainly as they were right in the heart of Carmel but I would admit to some trepidation as some of the poor reviews combined with the low rate I was quoted for 2 rooms had me thinking.

I had no reason to worry. The staff at the reception were excellent and the rooms really well decorated. Yes they are small and to some degree a little "worn". They are however very clean and looked very nice. The previous night we stayed at a place that cost me over twice what this night cost for a very spectacular place but for the rates I was charged I am really very happy.

I guess the proof of that is that I would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: We had two connecting rooms on the ground floor (15 and 16 from memory). Great economical option for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrantOfSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    159
    96
    31
    27
See reviews for
46
229
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
valley village
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

The location of the Motel is great .... right in the heart of the Ocean Ave shopping area. Free parking and can walk everywhere, The rooms are really dated ,,,,old beat up furniture & carpets however, still comfortable with a decent bed & flat screen TV. Bathroom was a little updated with a new counter on an old cabinet. We were three couples and we enjoyed our stay, especially for only $79 a night. The breakfast was great. Yummy egg knish, waffles, cereal, hot oatmeal, freshly cut fruit & coffee & orange juice. Really good for a motel breakfast. The staff really needs some coaching in smiling and greeting guests. They were not rude, but lacked hospitality skills.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RHINOWIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

For $234/night, the room is not worth it. The furniture are all outdated. The floor carpet is old.

Wrote an email to the manager about an inquiry but never got a response. This hotel is not even listed in the local tourist map.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ida33023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carmel hotels

hartlepool
Level Contributor
119 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We booked this for a one nights stop on our Cali Road trip.
We adore Carmel and it really should be a must stop destination on a trip to California.
This motel is well located and with free car parking and as we stayed midweek we were pleased with the £85 price.
Its a well presented motel , prettily decorated with flowers and a small outdoor seating area. There are some seats and tables outside of rooms on the upper balconies
The young lady at check in gave us a friendly welcome, talked us through the map and gave us room 29 which had a view down the mainstreet.
The room was spacious and clean with coffee maker, closet was part of the bathroom and the bathroom had both bath and shower.
Breakfast was in a pretty room next to the office with hot and cold selections.

Room Tip: Upper rooms 27, 28, 29 will get you main street views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smallluxuryitem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WALES
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Can't beat the location! Right opposite main shopping area. Built a long time ago before soundproofing was invented. Breakfast good for USA motel standards. Small problem with lighting attended to immediately.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDDAVIES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feilding, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We only stayed one night, but this was a great hotel with a great location. Situated right in the heart of Carmel. This is an older hotel but was clean and tidy. A very good breakfast included in the price. everything you need for a quick stopover.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meganshawnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there only for one night. Old hotel... Smells like old, sheets and towels were old. Thermostat didn't work. Staff in a bad mood, at check in and check out. Breakfast was ok, no big deal. Free parking. Good location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brupozzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carmel Inn & Suites
Carmel Inn & Suites
#25 of 25 in Carmel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hofsas House Hotel
Hofsas House Hotel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Village Inn

Property: Carmel Village Inn
Address: Ocean Avenue and Junipero Street, PO Box 5275, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Carmel Village Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Carmel Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Village Hotel Carmel
Carmel Village Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing