We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but Comfortable and Very Clean!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Village Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carmel Village Inn
Ranked #24 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Basic but Comfortable and Very Clean!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Location is prime at the entrance of Carmel by the Sea. If you want sleep, ask for an upstairs room (which we did) and we were happy because we could tell the downstairs rooms, being right off the parking lot, might be a little noisy. Small, but very comfortable room. Little sitting area at entrance, comfy and cozy King bed, decent wifi (free) connection, and standard bathroom with small mini fridge. Despite what some reviews state (yes, this is an older hotel, and some of the features/amenities are dated), the rooms are impeccably spotless (except for the in room coffee maker, it was pretty dingy, and wasn't going to risk using it). Breakfast the next morning is decent, as long as you are patient with the crowds (enjoyed having a tray to take it back to the room so the Mrs. could sleep in). Waffles, fresh fruit, cereals, bakery items, and a nice hot egg dish made the day a good start. All in all, a good stay for 1 night, call ahead of time or look at their website for discount deals. Standard King rooms run anywhere between $119 and $149 off season, we got a room for $79, which made it worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs, only two floors of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamaicabitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    144
    90
    31
    24
See reviews for
40
207
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kristinehamn, Sweden
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Friendly staff.
We'd made reservation for one night only and we got a decent clean standard room. Just what we expected. No air conditioner though. Would have been appreciated.
There was a complimentary breakfast put outside your room in the morning in a cooler. Worked out fine for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ch00dA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have stayed at this motel the last five year on our wedding anniversary trip to Carmel. Although it's not fancy and could use some refurbishing, it is clean, the staff is friendly and helpful, you get a good breakfast in the morning. It's reasonably priced for downtown Carmel. And the best thing for us is, it is steps from downtown Carmel, across from Devendorf Park. Once we arrive we never have to get into our car again. Everything is within walking distance. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
370 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is a poor condition older motel with a much less than pleasent desk staff. Have stayed in many Carmel inns in the past. This was the most worn out by far. In the 3 nites here the desk employees never smiled or spoke unless they had to. In serious need of customer skills. No a/c. or ceiling fan. Got chilly one night and the heater did not work. If you require wifi go somewhere else. I couldn't go more than 15 minutes without getting dumped.
On the plus side it has a good location and the breakfast was very good but would not go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carmel hotels

Millport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel was used for a quick stopover and we chose to stroll around the town that evening.
The room was clean but very dated. The coffee making facilities were in the bathroom ! The receptionist was very pleasant and answered all our questions politely.
The location was handy for the town centre and, as we booked online, it was reasonable considering where we were.

Room Tip: Our room was close to the office and we heard the workers start early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is an old fashioned motor lodge with exterior corridors. The room was dated, plain, and a little worn, but clean and neat. Breakfast in the lobby - good food and good selection. This is right downtown, so good location. All in all, not a bad place if you're just sleeping there. The price is competitive for the location, but seems high for the facility.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBSK89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Inn for 1 night during a road trip. The inn is essentially a motel which offers free parking and a good location in Carmel.
The room we stayed in could have benefitted from an update, however it was clean and tidy. The bed was very comfortable and we were able to get a good nights sleep as there were no problems with noise.
The hotel provided a free breakfast which was very good!
The location is what sells this hotel. It was just a few minutes stroll down the road to the shops and restaurants. Be warned though Carmel is quite quiet, we found a few of the restaurants closed. Also it is generally quite expensive.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CMSYKES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#18 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,493 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carmel Inn & Suites
Carmel Inn & Suites
#25 of 25 in Carmel
3.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#17 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Village Inn

Property: Carmel Village Inn
Address: Ocean Avenue and Junipero Street, PO Box 5275, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Carmel Village Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Carmel Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Village Hotel Carmel
Carmel Village Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing