We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carmel Food Tours is AMAZING” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmel Food Tours

Carmel Food Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.00*
and up
Carmel Small-Group Food and Wine Walking Tour
Ranked #1 of 18 Food & Drink in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Carmel Food Tours is a walking, tasting and cultural tour of beautiful downtown Carmel-by-the-Sea. Experience the most famous artist colony in California with a leisurely stroll through the heart of Carmel, taste a specially-selected variety of foods and wines from local restaurants and boutique shops, and become acquainted with the unique history and culture of this magical city.
Orange, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Carmel Food Tours is AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

My wife and I recently visited Carmel and she had signed us up for the Carmel Food Tour for the one day that we were in town. Best thing we could have possibly done! Staci was an unbelievable guide around the town. We happened to be the only two people that signed up for the tour that day so we lucked out and basically got a private tour. The food everywhere we went was unique and delicious. Staci really knows the town and gave all kinds of fun facts throughout our tour. It was the best way to experience Carmel in my opinion. Not only do you get to eat great food but you have a guide showing you all kinds of cool short cuts and alley ways that you would definitely miss out on if you were doing it by yourself. If we ever go back we will be taking the tour again for sure!

Visited March 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank dcloeren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staci G, Owner at Carmel Food Tours, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Whether it's two or sixteen, we're always thrilled to host guests who are eager to experience the great food, wine and culture that Carmel has to offer. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your impressions, and hope we'll see you on your next visit to the area! ~CFT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    13
    3
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a perfect way to spend a day in Carmel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Staci has a passion for the town of Carmel and all that it has to offer - its evident in her knowledge, sense of humor and the relationships she has built with the shop owners. We spent an amazing three hours walking the streets of Carmel, tasting yummy foods, drinking wine, sharing stories and learning about the quirky facts that make Carmel a special town. At the end of the tour, I even received a private escort back to the wine tasting venue - such a sweet, personal touch. This tour is a must in order to properly "taste" Carmel.

Helpful?
Thank Alynntoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staci G, Owner at Carmel Food Tours, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
One of the absolute best things about Carmel is its walkability. The fact that you can navigate to so many great places without a car makes it an ideal destination for active people. We are always happy to give directions or an escort, especially to our guests! ~CFT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Carmel Food Tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

A wonderful way to experience Carmel! Excellent food, fun group of people, interesting facts on Carmel, and a perfect way to see the hidden pathways, courtyards, and highlights of a great town.

Visited February 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staci G, Owner at Carmel Food Tours, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are so grateful to have such a great group of guests every time and appreciate the time you took to share your experience! ~CFT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great thing to do if you are not familar with Carmel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Great tour and guide. She is very knowlegeable and the food and wine tasting were wonderful. It was great to see all the sights and learn of the history of Carmel by the sea. Bring your walking shoes and your appetites. We did not need lunch that day, but were ready for dinner.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank sparkyfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staci G, Owner at Carmel Food Tours, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for joining us, and for sharing your thoughts with future guests! Great advice to bring your walking shoes; in addition to our tour we believe Carmel is one of the most walkable places on earth. Hope you'll come back to see us soon! ~CFT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Yum Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I did this tour with the military spouses group. Living in many places for short periods of time, it is often easy to miss wonderful restaurants. So, when this tour was offered I jumped on it! I loved every stop along the food tour. My favorite was Cassanova and the spinach gnocchi. My husband and I are now checking all the places we went off our food list. I definitely recommend this tour to visitors and locals alike.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ebbosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staci G, Owner at Carmel Food Tours, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
We are always inspired by the local military families, who are often moved on what seems like a whim. We believe food tours in this and any other city they're offered provide tremendous insight and help to minimize the uncertainty that comes with relocating. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! ~CFT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmel Food Tours also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Carmel Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing