We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Normandy Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Normandy Inn
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Los Altos, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We just returned from a night at the Normandy Inn. The location is fabulous and the hotel is quaint. Others have called it outdated, but I don't believe that is how I would describe it. The room is very adequate with all the expected ammenities, though no air coniditioning, but doubt if it is needed too often as the hotel is only a couple of blocks from the ocean. The walls are rather thin, so you do hear noise from the adjoining room. The bed was very comfortable, though the pillows could have used some updating (We're not fans of polyester pillows.). The breakfast was called a continental breakfast and so it was....cereal, bagels, muffins, hard boiled eggs, bananas, apples, yogurt, coffee, juices, etc. basically your typical continental breakfast. The front desk people were lovely and there to answer any question or resolve issues. One recommendation I would have is to ask for a room away from the street. Early morning traffic did awaken us as did people walking along the street. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeverlyLosAltos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    180
    69
    27
    13
See reviews for
69
292
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Pros: Location.

Cons: Extremely slow (basically unuseable) wifi. Room is very dated. Very little noise insulation - you can hear people in the other rooms and on the street. Black material comes out of the tap - not sure what it is! Dirty wine glasses provided. Subpar breakfast. Help desk people were not helpful at all.

Really no reason to stay here. If you do, make sure to request a room that does not line the street.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Discocanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed at the Normandy Inn on July 23 for one night. Contrary to the positive reviews I just read, I experienced several problems. The most important was that the mattress was so firm that I had difficulty sleeping and woke up with a back ache the next morning. Moreover, there was no air conditioning, the toilet seat wouldn't stay up, and the toaster I used in their very small breakfast room the next morning was broken, causing me to waste time waiting for a bagel to toast. In addition, there was no customer service, as the manager refused to accept any responsibility, even for items that were broken, by providing some form of compensation. Had I known about these problems beforehand, I would never have stayed here! Other than its good location and nice looking outer appearance. I cannot recommend the Normandy Inn as a place to stay.

Room Tip: Don't stay here at all! If you must, at least ask about the problems I pointed out before makin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Truthful367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

15 years ago, we stayed at this inn and decided to stay here again because the cost was what we wanted to pay. Nothing has changed since our first stay but whoever owns this inn will have to think about refurbishing the rooms soon as it is showing its age. It is not a bad place as it is near the beach and in the center of town, close to many good eating places.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank whichcitynow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, VA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The primary destination of our trip was San Francisco but it was a long trip and we ventured here and there on various overnighters, including Carmel. It was just good luck that we picked the Normandy Inn. It was an old fashion "motel" complete with kitchenette. While it still had that old charm, everything was neat and clean and we felt totally at home. It was situated within walking distance of everything we came to see including the beach, the seventeen mile drive, the shops and the restaurants. Heck, in Carmel, even walking up and down the side streets by the inn was a treat. Including the City Hall formerly occupied, of course, by Clint Eastwood. It was pretty evident that there were other places to stay that had a similarly specila appeal of their own but I'm glad we stayed at the Normandy Inn and I'd do it again without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 69dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Extended layout linked by charming courtyards filled with flowers and sunshine.
Upmarket rooms and Inn at reasonable prices gives great value.
Rooms reasonable size, tastefully furnished and clean.
Self service breakfast a little limiting and by all other standards set at this hotel, it was disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiveOutaBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We just happened upon the Normandy Inn as we passed through Carmel 2 weeks ago. One room left, we took it & ended up staying an additional night as well. It's quite reasonable for where it is situated, right in the heart of the 'bubble" that is Carmel. A couple of blocks from the beach & all the world class shopping at your door step. Fabulous choice of restaurants, all within easy walking distance. The shops are middle to high end with prices to match.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RJamesvandyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 699 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,513 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 961 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Inn

Property: Normandy Inn
Address: Ocean Ave. between Monte Verde St. and Casanova St., Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#15 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Normandy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into a corner of Carmel-by-the-Sea and surrounded by blooming flower gardens The Normandy Inn is a beautiful experience. The historic Normandy Inn exudes Old World European charm and is located just three blocks from the white-sand Carmel Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, TravelClick, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Normandy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Carmel
Normandy Inn Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing