We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and a Beautiful Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Normandy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Normandy Inn
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, VA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Location and a Beautiful Inn”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Normandy Inn so much that the back half of our trip we decided to return! The Inn is located just a few short walking blocks from the beach on Ocean Avenue in Carmel. The Inn is so quaint and beautiful and the innkeepers do not use email! They still have a ledger for keeping track of their guests. (Kind of cute!) They provide a nice continental breakfast as well. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Queen room with a separate vanity is nice or one with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aswilkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    200
    75
    28
    14
See reviews for
72
332
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
183 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

No better option in Carmel, hotel is well located and totaly connected to Carmel's style, with europpean style rooms and fantastic staff. Note this is a family hotel and not one of those chain type hotels with no character. Rooms are old but keep in great condition and the only downside is not having air conditioner (which for me was not a problem since i went during winter). Def will stay there again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank PedroM0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We got a free upgrade to the suit without even asking, The room was spacious, and comfortable, with separate living room and kitchen. Complimentary breakfast, and cookies and drinks throughout the day. They also have outdoor pool, which we didn't get to use. Just 3-4 blocks from the beach.

Room Tip: ask for room upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We arrived on a Saturday evening - the trip into Carmel by the Sea was very congested. A traffic jam on Highway One and onto Ocean Avenue (we were told this is the norm around dinner time). There are no "actual" numerical addresses ...the location of the Inn is on Ocean Avenue near Monte Verde (on the left hand side of street). Parking is very limited at the Inn. When we arrived there was no parking available - we had to find parking on the street. One of the Inn's employees noted there was a parking spot open across the street. He ran out and held it for us until we could move the car from the reserved spot one could park in while checking into the Inn. The Inn is quaint, the rooms clean and nicely decorated. The walls were very thin - we could hear the guest next door coughing. The Inn is not dog friendly (fine by me!) - although Carmel seems to be dog friendly; saw a lot of water bowls in front of various establishments. The continental breakfast was very good. An easy walk down to the beach for beautiful views, a good place to watch the surfers and people watching.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The Normandy Inn is quaint and in a great location. We only stayed one night, but found it to be very charming and comfortable. The location is perfect. You can easily walk to the beach as well as all the shops and restaurants.
The only things I found to be a turn off were, there are signs everywhere saying no dogs. I realize they do not allow pets but why do they need signs on every gate and in the office saying no dogs? Carmel is very dog friendly and although I respect their right to not allow pets at their Inn, I think it comes across as very cold and a little rude.
Next was a tip cup in the breakfast room. I have worked in the service industry for 12 years and I understand wanting to be tipped. However, this is not a full service restaurant. In fact, it's all self service. Seeing a tip cup on the counter seemed tacky and desperate like they aren't paying their staff enough.
Overall, our brief stay was comfortable and affordable!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adnyl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Carmel by the Sea is a lovely town and the Normandy Inn is centrally located between downtown and the ocean. Everything in Carmel is within an easy walking distance. Nice breakfast, free parking, coffee/tea and sherry available in the afternoon before a fire. You couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: We enjoyed Room 320, it is on the second floor with a view of the pool and if you stretch, you can s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merlin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgehampton
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Normandy Inn is a charming, funky kind of property almost in the center of town on Ocean Avenue. The rooms are a little dated in that the shower heads are low and the furnature is mostly made of wood, but everything is clean and comfortable. The hotel goes this way and that, up and down stairs - which is part of its unpredictable charm, and all of this wraps around a center parking lot, which is limited in size, meaning parking can be an issue. We had to park on the street and that was limited to one that allowed parking 24 hours a day. Lucky for us a space was easily obtained but I can imagine this could be a challenge on a nice summer evening. The innkeepers here were all very helpful and friendly, and breakfast, which is self-served homemade muffins, cereal, fruit, juice and coffee, is put out for the Inn's parons in it's own breakfast room. This worked VERY well. A note of caution - we drove up to Carmel from Southern California and programmed our GPS the best we could since Carmel doesn't use numbers on their streets. The address we used confused our GPS and we got lost in a residential area on streets with no lights. Calling the front desk got us back on track, but not without some angst. We still say it's worth the challenge and would stay here again. Note: It's a VERY short drive to the entrance to Pebble Beach's 17-mile drive!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDWBridgehampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
820 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,611 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
1,152 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#11 of 25 in Carmel
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Inn

Property: Normandy Inn
Address: Ocean Ave. between Monte Verde St. and Casanova St., Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#15 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Normandy Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into a corner of Carmel-by-the-Sea and surrounded by blooming flower gardens The Normandy Inn is a beautiful experience. The historic Normandy Inn exudes Old World European charm and is located just three blocks from the white-sand Carmel Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Normandy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Carmel
Normandy Inn Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing