We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good location, buildings and gardens very pretty, inside the room needing updating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Normandy Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Normandy Inn
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good location, buildings and gardens very pretty, inside the room needing updating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Three of us stayed in the Normandy Inn for a night. One thing I have to say right off the bat, is that I thought it was very backward and strange that this hotel states on their website that they don't answer emails, and that you must call them to book.
The buildings are very prettily painted, and the gardens are well kept. The location couldn't be better - right on the main street of Carmel - close to the beach and to the shops.
The price for the room isn't too bad, but the room we stayed in badly needed updating. The size of the room was great! It had a kitchen area with refrigerator, microwave and was fitted out with utensils, dishes and pots. There was a table for eating, then a living room with a sofa bed and television. There was a separate bedroom with a queen size bed. The bathroom was very oddly laid out with a dressing table area when you first walked in (nice to have) then the toilet, and crammed next to the toilet was the sink. I always felt like I would drop one of my items into the toilet! Then the shower after the sink. It was a long, narrow bathroom and was inside the bedroom, so that whomever slept on the sofa bed in the living room had to come into the bedroom to use the bathroom - - not very private.
The bedroom needed many more outlets. There was an oddly placed outlet right inside the bedroom door, high up on the wall where you'd normally find the light switch, but it wasn't near a table or a mirror so that it could be used. There were mirrored closet doors, but no outlet near the mirror and very poor lighting in the bedroom so that you couldn't really use the mirrors to get ready in the morning. (i.e. - use a hair dryer or put on your make up) Every good hotel should have a mirror, outside of the bathroom, with very good lighting RIGHT ABOVE the mirror, so that more than one person can get ready at the same time in the morning. Some updating of the rooms could make this hotel much nicer.
Continental breakfast was included, but it was very limited in choice. It was like a breakfast you'd get at a Comfort Inn - only dry cereal, toast, a few pastries, juice, coffee, and a bowl of whole oranges and apples. It would be nice if they had cut up fruit salad, as many hotels do, and a few more food choices.
The staff was neither nasty nor friendly - they just did their job. They were very matter of fact and didn't smile much or make one feel very welcome. But as I say, they weren't mean in any way either. They just attended to business.

Room Tip: Ask if they have any updated rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jainsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    184
    71
    27
    13
See reviews for
69
298
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stopped in Carmel for a night on our trip on the California 1 and I got a good deal as a AAA member.
It is right in the center of Carmel by the sea, very nice and clean room, no air conditioning, but the temperature goes low at night so there was no need.
Typical breakfast in the morning, and parking inside included: considering the prices in Carmel it was a good combination of price and quality.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marconap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stumbled upon this little French style place, the front desk manager (mike?) was very kind and professional, the bad weather was totally made up by the warm rooms and lovely little cottage. Rooms are bit old but very clean, lines are top notch, absolutely loved the pillow. A dream weeken.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minstrely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Loved staying here again. Normandy is such a cute property rooms are nicely appointed. The grounds are landscaped beautifully and very reasonable prices for Carmel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Just wish the property would allow dogs in this very very pet friendly resort village. You can't be The Normandy Inn or Carmel By The Sea for Charm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Normandy Inn was the perfect get away inn for me. The location really can't be beat - you are within walking distance to all the charming shops and restaurants in this most pleasant town, including just 3 blocks from the beach (be aware of a very steep hill).
While the Inn is old, they have done an adequate job of maintaining it so that you have everything you need in the bright rooms with plantation shutters. The pool is delightful, breakfast just ok, but to me location is everything.
Try the Merlot Bistro next door for a nice, relatively inexpensive dinner.
I was fortunate to stay right after a big event and just prior to Labor Day and got a super Senior rate.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vickie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Directly on the main road leading to the beach and restaurants. The Normandy Inn was a nice place to stay. The room was very clean and quiet. This was one of 7 places we stayed at on a trip throughout California. The Normandy Inn was a very relaxing hotel/bed and breakfast feeling place. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank endlessummer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed 3 days at the Normandy inn. It's like a bed and breakfast. We stayed in a suite. It stands individually. No neighboring walls but we can hear people walking by as the walls are thin and we are next to the lobby. Clean room and bathroom. The comforter on the bed is very thin for this climate. We had the heater on and still used both blankets. Very uncomfortable pillows so if you are particular bring your own. We had a little kitchenette with microwave and a empty mini fridge so we stored our stuff in it. The breakfast is adequate. Bagels and cream cheese, instant oatmeal, cereal, hard boiled eggs and fruit. You serve yourself. There's also coffee and tea. The design of the place is rambling. You go up the stairs then down then up again. But with all the flowers around its charming. The best part is the location. Right between shopping and the beach. You can walk to both. There isn't room service in case you want to order in. Also parking very limited. We had to search for parking on the street. Overall I'm pleased because the town is so beautiful that we just came back in to sleep

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,535 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 542 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 993 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Inn

Property: Normandy Inn
Address: Ocean Ave. between Monte Verde St. and Casanova St., Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#15 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Normandy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into a corner of Carmel-by-the-Sea and surrounded by blooming flower gardens The Normandy Inn is a beautiful experience. The historic Normandy Inn exudes Old World European charm and is located just three blocks from the white-sand Carmel Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and TravelClick so you can book your Normandy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Carmel
Normandy Inn Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing