We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean”
Review of Normandy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Normandy Inn
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stopped in Carmel for a night on our trip on the California 1 and I got a good deal as a AAA member.
It is right in the center of Carmel by the sea, very nice and clean room, no air conditioning, but the temperature goes low at night so there was no need.
Typical breakfast in the morning, and parking inside included: considering the prices in Carmel it was a good combination of price and quality.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marconap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 589 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stumbled upon this little French style place, the front desk manager (mike?) was very kind and professional, the bad weather was totally made up by the warm rooms and lovely little cottage. Rooms are bit old but very clean, lines are top notch, absolutely loved the pillow. A dream weeken.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minstrely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Loved staying here again. Normandy is such a cute property rooms are nicely appointed. The grounds are landscaped beautifully and very reasonable prices for Carmel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Just wish the property would allow dogs in this very very pet friendly resort village. You can't be The Normandy Inn or Carmel By The Sea for Charm.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Normandy Inn was the perfect get away inn for me. The location really can't be beat - you are within walking distance to all the charming shops and restaurants in this most pleasant town, including just 3 blocks from the beach (be aware of a very steep hill).
While the Inn is old, they have done an adequate job of maintaining it so that you have everything you need in the bright rooms with plantation shutters. The pool is delightful, breakfast just ok, but to me location is everything.
Try the Merlot Bistro next door for a nice, relatively inexpensive dinner.
I was fortunate to stay right after a big event and just prior to Labor Day and got a super Senior rate.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vickie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Directly on the main road leading to the beach and restaurants. The Normandy Inn was a nice place to stay. The room was very clean and quiet. This was one of 7 places we stayed at on a trip throughout California. The Normandy Inn was a very relaxing hotel/bed and breakfast feeling place. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank endlessummer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed 3 days at the Normandy inn. It's like a bed and breakfast. We stayed in a suite. It stands individually. No neighboring walls but we can hear people walking by as the walls are thin and we are next to the lobby. Clean room and bathroom. The comforter on the bed is very thin for this climate. We had the heater on and still used both blankets. Very uncomfortable pillows so if you are particular bring your own. We had a little kitchenette with microwave and a empty mini fridge so we stored our stuff in it. The breakfast is adequate. Bagels and cream cheese, instant oatmeal, cereal, hard boiled eggs and fruit. You serve yourself. There's also coffee and tea. The design of the place is rambling. You go up the stairs then down then up again. But with all the flowers around its charming. The best part is the location. Right between shopping and the beach. You can walk to both. There isn't room service in case you want to order in. Also parking very limited. We had to search for parking on the street. Overall I'm pleased because the town is so beautiful that we just came back in to sleep

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marlin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here en route down south. Carmel is nothing that spectacular but this place is super quaint, especially the receptionist with her cat mr Tuffy! Go there for something quirky and fun.
The rooms are clean and the beds are really comfy, and generally a safe pair of hands to stay at.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MLRjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
909 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
718 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#13 of 25 in Carmel
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Inn

Address: Ocean Ave. between Monte Verde St. and Casanova St., Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#15 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: $109 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Normandy Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into a corner of Carmel-by-the-Sea and surrounded by blooming flower gardens The Normandy Inn is a beautiful experience. The historic Normandy Inn exudes Old World European charm and is located just three blocks from the white-sand Carmel Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Normandy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Carmel
Normandy Inn Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing