We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not so expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Normandy Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Normandy Inn
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not so expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

It is a simple, but honest/comfortable hotel. It is not a resort, but it is clean. Its architecture and furniture remind us France. Its location is very near from the beach and from "downtown" Carmel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank RosinaldoBsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    181
    69
    27
    13
See reviews for
69
292
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We always enjoy going to Carmel. We went there on our honeymoon the first time. We arrrived late because a family member put limberg chesse in the carbenator. The people at the Inn were very gracious and got us a reservation for dinner at the Mission Ranch Inn for dinner. It was after 10:30 and the Mission Ranch waited for us, and even gave us bottle of champagne. This year was our 50th Annivary, we stayed at the Normandy Inn and thay got us in to the Misssion Ranch for our annivary dinner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PolsonBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night on a weekend in mid-March.
Pros: The place was quite charming. The decor was beautiful with entrance area decked with flowers. The service was very satisfactory. The staff helped us with finding out the nearby restaurants and things to do based on our interest. The room was decorated in french-style, clean and spacious. The breakfast had a decent spread. The location was awesome, right on Ocean Ave close to all the good restaurants and beach.
Con: Limited parking available inside the hotel. You have option of parking on the street.

Overall a great place to spend a relaxed weekend away from the hustle bustle of the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gogo_travel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed just one night. The hotel is in a great location, sweet hotel, very clean! It was easy to walk to dinner, to know the shops around and the beach. The breakfast was a lot of variety (yogurt, bagel, whole breads, fruits, coffee, milk and juice) very good. The staff was very friendly. The only problem was the acoustics of the walls. We could hear the entire conversation and steps the room next door (until the neighbor's fart, that was funny by the way).

Room Tip: Choose a king bed room in 2 floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolZ09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Best hotel we stayed in in California. From San Francisco to L.A. This little gem in Carmel was reasonably priced, around £96 a night although I overheard the prop do a really good dea with a walk in. We opted for an extra night. Lovely rooms. Tiny pool and garden. Pleasant lounge which had a log fire on a chilly day .Complimentary sherry and coffee in lounge as well as rooms.nice to sit by the fire with a sherry and peruse what seems to be all the menus from local,restaurants, which were no more than a few mins walk away along with the shops. Likewise the beautiful beach down the hill a few mins walk. Parking is free in the streets and limited on site. We parked on the street which was absolutely safe . I just wish it was nearer we would love to pop back from time to time.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, TN
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights and took a fireplace room. The location of the hotel is terrific. We had little interaction with the staff, but they were fine. One of the high points was the pool. You don't expect to do much sunbathing or pool time in Carmel, but the weather seemed unseasonably warm and it made an few hours by the well maintained pool and gardens quite nice. The room was a bit disappointing, just because it was small and not much furniture to relax on-only a few fussy chairs that are nicer to look at than sit on. The bathroom was tiny, and if I was any bigger (6.0') I'd of had a real problem. The fireplace was a bit disappointing only because they want you to use a fake log which has a pretty nasty odor the next day that lingers. Would not spend the extra for it. The breakfast is forgettable and there are far too many cool breakfast spots in Carmel to waste a meal here. Overall the room was very clean, plenty of towels and so forth. For about the same or less money I'd return to Lobos Lodge across the street. Much larger rooms, smaller place, and just a bit cozier.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eurorunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during a recent visit to Carmel. Our room was quite small but nicely furnished and everything was clean. The bathroom was a bit dated.
The breakfast was ordinary and there was no service at all apart from someone topping up supplies as necessary. On our first morning my husband mentioned that the coffee was not hot and he was told to heat it up in the microwave!
The hotel was ideally situated to explore Carmel with its charming shops and restaurants. It was also about 10 minutes walk from the beach.
Compared with other hotels we have stayed in on our trip we just felt the staff here lacked the welcoming touch. They were helpful when asked but not proactive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 789JulieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 699 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 962 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Inn

Property: Normandy Inn
Address: Ocean Ave. between Monte Verde St. and Casanova St., Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#15 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Normandy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into a corner of Carmel-by-the-Sea and surrounded by blooming flower gardens The Normandy Inn is a beautiful experience. The historic Normandy Inn exudes Old World European charm and is located just three blocks from the white-sand Carmel Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda and TravelClick so you can book your Normandy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Carmel
Normandy Inn Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing