We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Trip To The Best Inn In Carmel”
Review of Normandy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Normandy Inn
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
shreveport,La
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Another Great Trip To The Best Inn In Carmel”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife and I have been going to Carmel by The Sea twice a year for the past 12 years. As I have noted in past reviews I have had the opportunity to view many of the Inns of Carmel and have been staying at the Normandy Inn for the past 10 years. I can tell you that if you are looking for a luxury hotel this would not be your place to stay, but on the other hand if you want the true feel of Carmel By The Sea THIS IS THE PLACE FOR YOU. Sandra and the staff at the Normandy Inn are both caring and well informed.We would not even consider staying anywhere else.
You are located in the heart of Carmel with it's many restaurants-shops and art galleries within a few blocks from your door. A continental breakfast is served every morning in a cute dining room.
DO NOT MISS THE HIGHLANDS INN AT SUNSET OR THE LODGE AT PEBBLE BEACH for a glass of wine or two. Be sure to go to Point Lobo and take The Cypress Tree Trail.
Go down hwy 1 on the Big Sur Coast for some of the most beautiful views on earth. Stop at the River Inn and soak your feet in the river and then you should consider linch at Nepenthe where you can see 50 miles down the coast.
Have a GREAT time and tell Sandra and the staff HELLO!!
Larry and Anne-Shreveport La

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank larueshreveport_La
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    214
    78
    29
    14
See reviews for
76
350
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Coast
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Arriving at this flower laden, chocolate box property, we thought - this is charming! It was a great shame to discover that the warmth of the exterior was not reflected in the welcome by the front desk clerk. At all! Wow! We got the feeling that they couldn't care less that we had just arrived and were chatting about what they were having for dinner in between running credit cards and handing keys over without so much as eye contact! A simple smile and genuine greeting would have been great!

Anyway, Normandy Inn is quaint and sweet and charming (right down to their sherry decanter in guest area) but why oh why is there no place to print out boarding cards! We were sent to another hotel blocks up the street (or the library!) to do this and the front desk clerk at that hotel says he gets a lot of eye rolling and annoyed comments from the guests that come there from the Normandy Inn to print out boarding cards. It would not be hard to set up a guest computer and printer in the Normandy's "library" so I am really not sure why they do not offer this.

The standard of the inn has certainly been upgraded with what looks like quite new paint and carpet. It is a little funky but in a charming way. We did not have a problem with parking as others have noted but then again we were staying in off season.

One other thing that just just did not sit right with us....when we got there and saw our room, (a fireplace queen) we realized it was going to be too small. So we asked Victoria at the front desk if we could switch to another room....she was able to accommodate us in a King room that was much bigger but had no fireplace, a downgrade she said. That was fine by us. She simply changed the keys and that was that. Out of curiosity, I went on line later and noticed that for the two nights we were staying the rate for the room we were now in was about $50 less than the one we had been shown first. I was a little confused as to why Victoria would not have pointed that out when we downgraded rooms at the front desk. They were not full so it was not that we were moving anyone else. So I went and asked her and showed her the rate that was coming up on the internet ($119 and $108 for the two nights respectively as opposed to what they were originally charging us for the fireplace room $160 and $156).....she looked a little ruffled and went red in the face and I distinctly got the feeling that she had thought she had "pulled one over on us". I was not very pleased about being treated like that as it just did not feel very honest somehow. Anyway, she deducted a small amount off our bill reasoning that "as we had booked so far in advance she could not match the price that the internet was now showing"....um, isn't it usually the other way around? I think she was embarrassed and was trying to make a stand or something so I didn't push it. When we checked out, I brought this up to the gentleman who was now behind the desk and he made both nights the rate of the $119, as opposed to $119 and $108 that the internet showed, but I was OK with that. That seemed fair to me. More than anything I was just shocked as to why we had not been told when we initially downgraded rooms that they would be adjusting the rate.

Additionally, and I feel bad adding another negative here but people should know - the internet does not work very well at all - so if you are planning on checking emails, streaming a favorite show etc. - good luck. Although, I should point out, that we met the owner during our stay and she did say that they were going to be upgrading their wi-fi. So, if that's important to you then ask before you stay if they have done that yet.

The breakfast was pretty good - nothing special but plenty of it and a delightful lady that runs it. In a nutshell - this B and B needs to move forward into the times a little and maybe look at their front desk policies and procedures.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank puddingjar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We've stayed here on 3 occasions now and we really enjoy the location, the character and the service. Rooms are quaint and warm and cozy. Carmel can get chilly so having a warm room to come back to is great. The staff are very helpful and the house cat is so welcoming.
Breakfasts are very good too.
So why not a 5 rating? Parking is practically nonexistent. Parking around the hotel can be really tough especially on a weekend. So unless you have a mini or smart car chances are your not getting into one of their spots.
Then the sound insulation between rooms is also pretty much nonexistent so if you have neighbors you are sharing conversations, tv shows, sneezes, coughs, farts you name it.
Lastly, wifi. Sure they have it but at dial up speeds. So if you're going to advertise wifi you should try it out in all the rooms and check the speed before using it as a selling point.

Room Tip: Get a fireplace room if you can and an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BuLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pekin, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Located on Ocean Ave. in Carmel, just 4 blocks from the beach, I recommend this property. We stayed there 4 nights in early Oct. 2012 and found it to be clean and to provide a continental but not full breakfast. There are very good places for breakfast nearby and walking in Carmel is a recommended activity. We would stay there again but would also point out there are many good
hotel options in Carmel.

Room Tip: Our group was in rooms 304 and 306. Rooms were clean and adequate in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike36536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Right on Ocean makes it a perfect shopping and dining base. Good size rooms, comfy beds and OK bathrooms. No fan so it gets steamy. Breakfast was OK. May not be as glowing if we had paid full summer price!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janecoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
white plains, ny
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Overnight stay in Carmel on a weekday. Older building, well-maintained, on Ocean Ave. near stores and restaurants. Room was spacious and very clean. Bed had a deep, soft mattress. Ample bathroom and closet. Rather basic breakfast buffet included.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geezer101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perugia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We only stayed one night. The room was not particularly impressive but spacious and clean. What we were most disappointed about was the "continental breakfast", which was served in paper cups and plates and plastic silverware and was meager and of low quality (really insufficient considering the price of the stay).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnSey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,659 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
857 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
652 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#19 of 25 in Carmel
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Inn

Property: Normandy Inn
Address: Ocean Ave. between Monte Verde St. and Casanova St., Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#15 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Normandy Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into a corner of Carmel-by-the-Sea and surrounded by blooming flower gardens The Normandy Inn is a beautiful experience. The historic Normandy Inn exudes Old World European charm and is located just three blocks from the white-sand Carmel Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Normandy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Carmel
Normandy Inn Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing