We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice B & B boutique property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Normandy Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Normandy Inn
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Pekin, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice B & B boutique property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Located on Ocean Ave. in Carmel, just 4 blocks from the beach, I recommend this property. We stayed there 4 nights in early Oct. 2012 and found it to be clean and to provide a continental but not full breakfast. There are very good places for breakfast nearby and walking in Carmel is a recommended activity. We would stay there again but would also point out there are many good
hotel options in Carmel.

Room Tip: Our group was in rooms 304 and 306. Rooms were clean and adequate in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike36536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    180
    69
    27
    13
See reviews for
69
292
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Right on Ocean makes it a perfect shopping and dining base. Good size rooms, comfy beds and OK bathrooms. No fan so it gets steamy. Breakfast was OK. May not be as glowing if we had paid full summer price!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janecoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
white plains, ny
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Overnight stay in Carmel on a weekday. Older building, well-maintained, on Ocean Ave. near stores and restaurants. Room was spacious and very clean. Bed had a deep, soft mattress. Ample bathroom and closet. Rather basic breakfast buffet included.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geezer101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perugia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We only stayed one night. The room was not particularly impressive but spacious and clean. What we were most disappointed about was the "continental breakfast", which was served in paper cups and plates and plastic silverware and was meager and of low quality (really insufficient considering the price of the stay).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EnSey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Pleasant Inn close to beach and shopping.
Room was very clean and the bed was comfortable, had a great sleep.
Bathroom was large but no fan to get rid of the moisture after a shower.
Continental breakfast included in price was more than adequate- quite substantial.
Booked through expedia.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madogmaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We just had an opportunity to stay here with 2 other couples for three nights. Had not been to Carmel in over 25 years. Absolutely ioved the Normandy Inn. The Inn is well maintained with beautiful gardens and flower pots. The location is central to shops, restaurants, and sandy beach. The rooms are clean, cozy with self controled heat in bedroom and bath, French decor and comfortable beds. A quaint lobby with a side room was perfect for us to gather together and play cards. In the afternoon through the evening complimentary Cream Sherry, coffee, tea, cocoa, and cookies are available. The continental breakfast was great with a variety of cereals, fresh muffins, toast, bagels, hard cooked eggs, fruit, juices, coffee and newspaper in a nice setting.The staff is cordial and most helpful. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: 210,Large and sunny 212, 214, 216 peeks of ocean/light all second level-no elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank acorn707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We really lucked out finding this charming inn. Located in the center of Carmel with all sort of restaurants and shops even the ocean at end of the street. Very clean, comfortable room with helpful staff. The flowers thru out the property are gorgeous. They even have houses around the corner for larger groups! The continental breakfast room was also very well maintained. We will be sure to tell our family and friends to come here when vacationing in Carmel.

Room Tip: Others there told me they were also very pleased. Our room was in front of building, street side and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patj_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 699 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,513 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 959 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Inn

Property: Normandy Inn
Address: Ocean Ave. between Monte Verde St. and Casanova St., Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#15 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Normandy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into a corner of Carmel-by-the-Sea and surrounded by blooming flower gardens The Normandy Inn is a beautiful experience. The historic Normandy Inn exudes Old World European charm and is located just three blocks from the white-sand Carmel Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelClick and Agoda so you can book your Normandy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Carmel
Normandy Inn Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing