We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I come back to this charming Inn year after year”
Review of Edgemere Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edgemere Cottages
Ranked #11 of 25 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2010

A rare treat of an Inn located a stone's throw from the beach in beautiful Carmel. Caring on site management, a lovely complimentary breakfast, and beautiful landscaped grounds. Stay here once and you'll always stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RomanticRoamer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for Edgemere Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 131 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2010

We had a two night stay at Edgemere and i wish it could have been longer. Gretchen and Doug were the perfect hosts. The room was clean and cozy and the grounds were wonderful. I was only able to join my wife and daughter one morning for breakfast (early morning tee time at Pebble Beach was calling) but the one day I did have breakfast was wonderful. My wife gleefully rubbed in what I missed the second day of vacation. Any future trips to the Carmel area will include another stay at Edgemere.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rexweeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

Look past the older style and the simple but very cosy and comfy accommodation - Edgemere has two major pluses - the location and the hosts. A family owned and operated B&B (we stayed in the patio room) where your hosts Gretchen, Doug (plus riffraff & magenta - the cats) made us feel most welcome and very relaxed so far from home. The room and property was all we needed to enjoy this very pretty - and pretty expensive - township of Carmel-By the Sea...at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeBevTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2010

If you are looking for quiet, cozy, intimate and romantic, this place is for you!! I seriously need to decompress and this place was the perfect place. We stayed in Rosemont Cottage and loved it! The breakfasts were fabulous and well-portioned. Gretchen and Doug were fabulous! I would highly recommend this place to my family and friends.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FitzMichelleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2009

Gretchen & Doug are the Best hosts you can ask for they make the Edgemere experiance delightfull ! They are there for your every need .
Their breakfasts are Top Notch, I loved the Quiche and the Cinnamon Toast its the best I've ever had on top of that they will bring it to your cottage !!
The location is one block from the beach and in my opinion the best part of carmel .
If you really want to relax and see carmel This is the place for you!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 1sanjoseWoodchucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

I felt comfortable from the moment I spoke with Gretchen, the innkeeper, to make my reservation. Our room included a gas fire-place, a skylight and a separate kitchenette. The location, on a quiet street one block from the ocean, was perfect and we could hear the waves from our room. Our breakfasts were delicious and Gretchen was able to make several suggestions for dining, hiking, etc that really added to our vacation, We really enjoyed our stay and will absolutely return when we are next in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank fascyn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2009

Family operated Bed & Breakfast in a quiet neighborhood near the ocean. Clean and comfortable with friendly helpful hosts. We stayed in the Rosemont Cottage which appeared to be freshly remodeled. Couldn't have enjoyed our stay more.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AustinWeirdness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
893 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
1.0 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Terrace
The Colonial Terrace
#4 of 25 in Carmel
738 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites
0.5 mi away
Carmel Green Lantern Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgemere Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgemere Cottages

Address: San Antonio Avenue, between Thirteenth Avenue and Santa Lucia Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range: $216 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgemere Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgemere Cottages is a small, romantic, pet-friendly, family-owned Inn located one block from Carmel Beach. On the grounds of a historic Carmel home built in the 1920s and now surrounded by lovely gardens. We provide a lovely breakfast basket filled with a variety of fruit, oatmeal, homemade bread and yogurt. Our cottages are private and secluded and feature kitchenettes, high-definition TVs and DVDs and gas fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Edgemere Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgemere Cottages Hotel Carmel
Carmel Cottages

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing