We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quaint cottage, super friendly hostess” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edgemere Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edgemere Cottages
Ranked #14 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quaint cottage, super friendly hostess”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We fell in love with Carmel. It was the highlight of our trip and we ended up in Carmel by default, as all the accommodation in Monterey was booked (this was exceptionally fortunate for us).

Carmel was the most quaint village and made us feel like we were in a storybook. It has lots of trees, lots of cute cottages (many of which cost a few million dollars, as they have been specially made to look old) and lots of character.

We stayed in the Rosemont Cottage, as we were a family of 5. The cottage was very cute and Gretchen was the most delightful person. She was very helpful and friendly and made delicious breakfasts.

Our only regret was that we only had 2 nights here. We would rather have foregone staying in San Francisco and spent a week in Carmel.

Our girls loved the beach. Even though it was overcast and cold for swimming, the beach had things to explore. We saw lots of squirrels on the beach and were fortunate to see dolphins.

Thank you Gretchen for a wonderful stay and we would LOVE to come and spend a week in beautiful Carmel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank di100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    22
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
68
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liberty, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I wanted that "cottage experience!" We rented the Rosemont and Patio Room (all that was available when I booked). My parents took the Rosemont room (so jealous) it was amazing! Very roomy, small kitchen, large bedroom, small living room -- it was perfect! My husband and I stayed in the Patio Room. Small but provided a good nights rest. The con is the "private bath" is disconnected from the room. You have to leave the room to go the bathroom. The other con is we did not know about the "no ac." This was a little different for us. The windows provided a great room temp but we did have to put up with late arrivals/luggage and talking for a short amount of time.

The inn keepers were amazing! Very friendly, accommodating and sweet. Loved visiting with the owner and hearing the history of the house.

A very walkable distance to the beach. The air smells of lavender -- amazing!
We will return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akershkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schmoelln, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

what a lovely place to stay in Carmel, in a quiet street and less than 5 minutes to a beautiful beach (with the chance to see some dolphins). Gretchen, the owner, is very friendly and helpful. One day we wanted to go to the beach and she gave us beach chairs and towels. We stayed in the patio room which was spacious and very clean. You don't hear noise from the streets and though the room is in the main house we didn't hear anything (TV, kitchen noise etc.). we could fully relax there. Parking space is available directly in front of the house. Breakfast was very good as well, dozens of different teas, fresh fruit every morning. I'd love to stay there again :)

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank calapuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

What a nice stay. Three nites of quiet comfort. Gretchen, Doug and Makala are gracious hosts. Their cottages are like little turn- key homes. They served our lovely breakfasts in our cottage. Gretchen makes great quiches but her passion is baking so our muffins and the likes were really tasty. All was very clean yet had the warmth of the things that make a home feel lived in. There is all you need in the kitchen to cook. Books and lovely chotskeys (you know what I mean) that Gretchen's mom collected lend to the ambiance. The home is on a very large lot for Carmel and is 50 or so yards to the beach. The home has been in their family for many years. Our two small pooches loved it too. Thanks Gretchen. Vic and Barbara.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Vic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had our first stop at Carmel on our South West US tour and stayed 4 nights at Edgemere. A very good first stop. Gretchen is a very friendly person. The breakfast is delicious in a very cosy breakfast room. Location is perfect, just a stroll to the beach and away from the busy centre. we stayed in the patio room, comfortable and having a private garden to relax. Definite a place to come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulreigersbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
190 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

You are one block from the ocean so it's easy to walk the beach during the day or relax to the waves at night. Our cottage, the Devon, was spacious, well appointed and charming. It had a large bathroom and there's a full kitchen if you want to use it. (The cold pack in the freezer is mine.) Breakfast was enjoyable and over our three nights at Edgemere we met a number of interesting and sociable people at breakfast. Your hosts, Gretchen and Doug, are friendly and helpful, too. I recommend this spot unreservedly.

Room Tip: The Devon had a better design and flow to the cottage than the one to its left. The largest cottage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pickascreennamepicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We can't wait to go back. Friendly owners make guests feel welcome. The beach is so close it is convenient for an early morning walk or run before breakfast. You can hear the waves and smell the salt air. The rooms have been redone with lovely wood floors, excellent fireplaces, and all amenities for a wonderfully relaxing stay. We had a small kitchen, sitting area, two tvs, dutch doors for fresh air and comfortable beds. We will return as often as possible.

Room Tip: Just plan ahead because this B&B is booked far in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Forevermemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 717 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,538 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#13 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 496 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Terrace
The Colonial Terrace
#4 of 26 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 651 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandpiper Inn Carmel
Sandpiper Inn Carmel
#8 of 26 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgemere Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgemere Cottages

Property: Edgemere Cottages
Address: San Antonio Avenue, between Thirteenth Avenue and Santa Lucia Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgemere Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgemere Cottages is a small, romantic, pet-friendly, family-owned B&B located one block from Carmel Beach. On the grounds of a historic Carmel home built in the 1920s and now surrounded by lovely gardens. We provide a delicious, home-made breakfast cooked fresh every morning and served in our dining room. Our recently remodeled and updated cottages are private and secluded and feature kitchenettes, high-definition TVs and DVDs and some have real wood-burning fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Edgemere Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgemere Cottages Hotel Carmel
Carmel Cottages

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing