We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do NOT stay here! There are better places in Carmel!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edgemere Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Edgemere Cottages
Ranked #13 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Mateo, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do NOT stay here! There are better places in Carmel!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2008

Wow. What a dump. A girlfriend and I chose to stay at Edgemere Cottages because it looked cute from the pictures (they fool you) and because the rate was decent. What an adventure it was.

The owners, Tommy and Ruth, are ecclectic - but Tommy in particular was rather rude, very smelly, and decided to butt into our breakfast one morning by telling us about how he named his cats Beavis and Butthead, how he's a "gamer," how his wife (he called her "his goddess") was at some trance dancing class, and how habanero peppers make his butt "on fire" when he goes to the bathroom. Charming at anytime of the day, but ESPECIALLY when one first wakes up in the morning.

I brought my cat - super low maintenance, it's a cat, right? - and even though they mentioned no charge on the phone when I mentioned that cat when I booked, they decided to charge me when I got there. The cottage was very dingy and dirty inside - could definitely use some TLC - and the carpet was filthy with stains on it. We found a spare key by our room and decided to try it in the lock to see if it was a spare - the lock was so dirty and old that the key BROKE OFF in the lock and they charged us half of the locksmith fee without a second glance. Seems like they were happy to get the extra money - more happy to take that than make sure their guests were comfortable.

When I left, the proprietor tried to give me a business card - I told her I "wouldn't be needing it." I won't ever stay here again, and you shouldn't either!

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank thegr8chase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    23
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
74
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northern CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2007

We stayed in the Rosemont (3 children, myself and our dog) and found the room spacious and clean with lots of nice touches (pretty linens, interesting books, charming windows and a writing desk). We loved the big bathtub, real wood fireplace (evening fire set to light upon arrival) and a newly remodeled kitchenette.

My parents stayed in the Devon and loved the brilliant skylight, clean room with its own bath and kitchenette.

We all walked around the gardens in the evening and morning - we discovered a hummingbird and many beautiful plants and statutes. The area was very quiet and we LOVED being one block from the dog friendly beach! We walked to the beach and enjoyed hours of fun and returned to the room for hot baths and hot cocoa!

The new owners (Barbara and Scott) were extraordinarily accomodating - they recommended a wonderful restaurant for dinner, served a brilliant breakfast that we adults and the children loved and helped with sticky lock on our Thule storage for the van. They were very friendly and couldn't do enough to make ours a pleasant stay.

We will definitely be returning to Edgemere Cotages!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CATravelers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2007

We stayed in the Devon room, everything was clean, the rooms very large for Carmel standards, the gardens are to die for, nice little outdoor sitting areas to enjoy a glass of vino!

Very quiet, they allow dogs which is a bonus, for dog lovers and the BEST Location you will ever find, 5 mins to the white sands!

The Inn Keepers (Scott and Barbara) are the owners, they brought us breakfast every morning - wonderful sweet berries etc.
Just a very sweet couple! And eager to please you.

Finally the rooms are not ultra modern, but new toilet, & clean fixtures!
With a choice of soaps, shampoos etc, nice white towels!
If you are a beach lovers this is the PLACE TO BE.

Helpful?
2 Thank QueenyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2006

We reserved two "cottages" for three days mid-June. As others have noted, they were at best rustic and musty inside and the maintenance left a lot to be desired. This in itself did not bother us too much. The real problem is that they are not really cottages -- they are all connected to each other and the main house. Family staying in Picadilly found out that their bedroom shared an extremely thin wall with the bathroom in Devon -- so thin that they could tell when someone was picking up soap or brushing their teeth! As the whole point of renting a cottage is to have a bit of privacy, this is a major shortcoming.

On the positive side, the grounds were pleasant and the area was quiet. However, there are much better choices for the price.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank tripperd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2006

We took a family vacation with two toddlers this summer. The place looks cute on the outside but it was VERY dumpy on the inside. Lots of spiders and mosquitos inside. The kitchenette wasn't well stocked with cooking utensils (pots, pans etc..) The sink leaked, the heater didn't work well and the furniture was dirty. The bathroom was really tiny and the toilet was coming undone. The cottages are small and not great for small children. The innkeeper was not around during the day so you were unable to go into the inn or if you needed help. I did not have an enjoyable time and could not wait to get home. Next time we're staying at The Coloinal Terrace (which is a block down). There are SO many great places to stay in Carmel and Edgemere Cottages was not one of them.. especially for the price.

Hope this helps.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2006

We stayed in the Piccadilly cottage in January and it cost us almost $200 with tax. This seemed rather pricey for the quality of what we got. The bathroom is in desperate need of a makeover especially the scary toilet seat that had paint peeling off all over it. The gardens outside were very nice, but the inside of the cottage felt like an economy motel. The other issue we had was with the intrusive and odd innkeeper (Kari) who made us feel very uncomfortable, so much so that we did not go over the the main inn for the included breakfast. She was pushy, invasive and very weird. The website did not have very many photos of the rooms, so I had some concerns about staying here. I did peek in the windows of the Rosemont cottage and it looked a lot nicer than the Piccadilly. If I had it to do over, I would have stayed at the Lamplighter Inn down the street.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sadie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2005

Edgemere Cottages offers a peaceful, serene environment to get away from the hectic city life. One block away from the beach and a few blocks (bicycling distance) away from downtown Carmel, Edgemere Cottages is in a great location.

Kari (the innkeeper) has really made the place come alive with her creative spirit, eclectic furniture, full-spirited stories, and wonderful coffee in the morning. Queeny the 4-year old cat is quite a character as well and is perfectly at home at the Edgemere Cottages.

The bed itself is comfortable and the rooms: spacious. Amenities are sparse: no phones, bring your own lotion, conditioner, and shampoo (luckily, a bar of soap is provided). Breakfast is standard continental: strong coffee, juice, grapes, melon slices, half-a quiche, and a sliver of blueberry muffin bread...light way to start off the day.

Highly recommend dinner at Em Le's (---) on Dolores (between 5th and 6th) ... the early bird special is the definitely the best deal in town: 2-course meal (soup or salad and a delicious, generous-portioned entree for ONLY $9.95! Get there early as this little nook is popular with both locals and celebrities alike, which may make finding a seat a challenge indeed.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paulandflorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandpiper Inn Carmel
Sandpiper Inn Carmel
#11 of 26 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Terrace
The Colonial Terrace
#4 of 26 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgemere Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgemere Cottages

Property: Edgemere Cottages
Address: San Antonio Avenue, between Thirteenth Avenue and Santa Lucia Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgemere Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgemere Cottages is a small, romantic, pet-friendly, family-owned B&B located one block from Carmel Beach. On the grounds of a historic Carmel home built in the 1920s and now surrounded by lovely gardens. We provide a delicious, home-made breakfast cooked fresh every morning and served in our dining room. Our cottages are private and secluded and feature kitchenettes, high-definition TVs and DVDs and some have wood-burning fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Edgemere Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgemere Cottages Hotel Carmel
Carmel Cottages

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing