We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quaint Town, Quaint Hotel........” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carmel Inn & Suites
Ranked #25 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Quaint Town, Quaint Hotel........”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Really surprised by some of the Trip reviews. This was a very pleasant, very clean, very comfortable suite, for four, for $250. Perfectly located for Carmel central, price included wifi and breakfast - more than a suite at Caesar's Palace does - and we had a really great stay, here. Well worth a look.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twa203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    42
    31
    13
    18
See reviews for
29
43
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The location and quietness of the hotel was great with easy access to shops and restaurants. The bathrooms were obviously recently remodeled with granite and were very nice. The shower was great with ample hot water. Breakfast was minimal but sufficient. The room was small but clean. The decorations were charming although a bit worn and need of replacement(thread bare bedspread). There was a light on all night outside our bathroom window so we had to shut the bathroom door to get some sleep. My major issue was the bed. The mattress sagged and squeaked and I woke up with a backache. Even my 20yo daughter complained a bit. As long as you don't have a sensitive
back it was a good deal for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraBurbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ciasca, General Manager at Carmel Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
We want to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. Many of our rooms have either firm or plush beds so please give us the choice if one of your room bed is not comfortable then we will give you another option.
We look forward to serving you and your client again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiotari
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Clean comfortable but reception dont make extra efforts. An extra pillow was a problem! They should forget
the idea of what was optimistically termed. "breakfast". A coffee machine in the corridor
would be better

Room Tip: Experience limited to one night but probably the upper floor is has more of an outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 704Sheena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ciasca, Public Relations Manager at Carmel Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Your willingness to share your client's recent experience is genuinely appreciated. Please be assured that the issues you have raised have been addressed, and that appropriate action has been taken. We want to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us.
We look forward to serving you and your client again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
296 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Spent a couple of nights in Carmel this month with the family on summer holiday. Booked 2 nights in this average motel on Juniperro. I was attracted to the fact that they had a king suite with a separate living room with a day bed. The rooms were very average. Beds not particularly comfy, no chest or furniture to put clothes except a tiny closet and very tiny night stands. The wall outlets/electricity turn off unless the lights are on so you can't charge your cell, tablet... while asleep or out of the room. The included breakfast was quite sparse considering the $250 per night charge, but hey, it's Carmel. Nobody was in the breakfast room to refill the coffee. Overall, I would not stay here again. There are too many other options that are better. Also, I could hear the upstairs guests walking around at 2AM so overall not a great experience on several levels.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelforless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carmel hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Although it looks like an older motel from the 50's or 60's, it is very well maintained, and probably extensively remodel. Our room was clean and newer looking with a fireplace, balcony with a partial ocean view, and an updated bathroom.

The property is within walking distance (2 blocks) of most of the shops, restaurants, and art galleries. The beach is quite a hike though and up-hill on the return. We did pay extra for an "ocean View" only to see mostly fog -- probably the time of year.

Bottom line: We would definitely return, but in March we would likely skip the "ocean view" upgrade.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
624 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 883 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

my partner and i stopped of in carmel after a long drive while on holiday. 1 night was booked, enough to stay in carmel, wished i could have took the room with me. spotlessly clean. crisp white sheets, nice decor , space, facilities, great price, breakfast. have recommended this place to friends. would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank enncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Arrived in Carmel late with no where to stay, we drove around for a while passing the Inn quite a bit. Being tired decided to give it a one night try. Ended up staying for 3 nights. Location was perfect for us loved the shops and street running down to the lovely beach. Hotel bed was crisp and clean everything we needed, we do not usually stay in an inn but we would stay here again. Breakfast was included and was adequate Nothing flash or expensive but it does the job I would recommend this inn.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lori822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,516 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 533 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#12 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carmel Village Inn
Carmel Village Inn
#24 of 25 in Carmel
3.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Inn & Suites

Property: Carmel Inn & Suites
Address: Junipero Ave& 5th Ave, PO Box 1295, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carmel Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two story Inn with modern guest amenities in rooms and suites; situated in the business district, near shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Carmel Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Carmel
Carmel Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing