We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carmel Inn & Suites
Ranked #25 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel was budget friendly for a little get away. The room was nice, decorated with antiques...just not really my style. The bed wasn't very comfortable though. The walls are very thin and we could hear everything going on in the rooms next to us. And we had lovely neighbors who decided to have a huge argument for over an hour late at night...so not much sleep was had for me :-/

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jholder73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 156 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

We really enjoyed this place and are surprised by the poor rating. Our room was super clean and the antique wooden furniture made it very nostalgic. It was a great location at the top of the hill, to work your way down through the boutique stores and eventually beach. We loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Good value for Carmel, the first impression of the building is that it's old, but when you get inside, its very beautiful. The staff was nice upon check in, however our room was still not ready at their 4:00pm check in time. It was ready shortly after but it was annoying.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vcryden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Can't be better located, just off of downtown but quiet enough not to be bothered by noise other than the ubiquitous seagulls. But there was nothing special about the place-- overpriced for a summer weekend, but so is every other place in Carmel. Room was clean but small and looked into the windows of the next building only a few feet away. It did have a small refrigerator but no dresser or drawers for clothes. Couldn't get the TV controls to work right between the two remotes. Breakfast was functional. Parking lot seemed to fit most everyone, which is a big plus in Carmel. If you're there to spend the day in the town, it's fine. If you're planning to hole up in your room for a few days, I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mjaltamira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Based on previous reviews, I didn't expect to be terribly impressed, but the price was wonderful so we gave it a try. I must say, I was pleseantly surprised! The country/antique style was a little over the top, but it added to the charm of the place. The room was clean, all staff were friendly, helpful and informative. The location was perfect! We will definitely come back for our next visit to Carmel. My only complaint were the noisy seaguls that start around 4am, but, that's not exactly anyone's fault.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie1481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

My sister, husband, daughter, and myself wanted to spend the night in Carmel. Since this was the cheapest hotel in downtown Carmel, I knew it would be not the greatest. The room was a bit floral '80's like. The bathroom was brand new very nice, I even think the floor was heated. We liked the separate bedroom and daubed and trundle in the living room. The room came with a tv and fridge. The only thing I can complain about is the thin walls. We heard a lot of jumping and what not from the room above. Breakfast was breads, no eggs of bacon or pancakes/waffles.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mehack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located within easy walking distance of lots of shops and restaurants. It's a nice clean little place but stuck in the 80's decor-wise. Lots of flowery fabrics. Very worn and patched carpet in room one where we stayed, but newly remodeled bathroom was spotless and shiny clean. Our room, right by the pool, was very quiet but I fear that might not be the case had the pool been open. Walls very thin and noise comes right thru. However, if a reasonable price is your goal in pricey Carmel, this hotel can be a good choice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
699 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Inn & Suites

Address: Junipero Ave& 5th Ave, PO Box 1295, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range: $110 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carmel Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two story Inn with modern guest amenities in rooms and suites; situated in the business district, near shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Carmel Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Inn And Suites
Carmel Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing