We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Lovely grounds, clean, cute rooms.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carmel Inn & Suites
Ranked #25 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely grounds, clean, cute rooms.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Good value for Carmel, the first impression of the building is that it's old, but when you get inside, its very beautiful. The staff was nice upon check in, however our room was still not ready at their 4:00pm check in time. It was ready shortly after but it was annoying.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vcryden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    42
    31
    13
    18
See reviews for
29
43
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Can't be better located, just off of downtown but quiet enough not to be bothered by noise other than the ubiquitous seagulls. But there was nothing special about the place-- overpriced for a summer weekend, but so is every other place in Carmel. Room was clean but small and looked into the windows of the next building only a few feet away. It did have a small refrigerator but no dresser or drawers for clothes. Couldn't get the TV controls to work right between the two remotes. Breakfast was functional. Parking lot seemed to fit most everyone, which is a big plus in Carmel. If you're there to spend the day in the town, it's fine. If you're planning to hole up in your room for a few days, I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjaltamira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Based on previous reviews, I didn't expect to be terribly impressed, but the price was wonderful so we gave it a try. I must say, I was pleseantly surprised! The country/antique style was a little over the top, but it added to the charm of the place. The room was clean, all staff were friendly, helpful and informative. The location was perfect! We will definitely come back for our next visit to Carmel. My only complaint were the noisy seaguls that start around 4am, but, that's not exactly anyone's fault.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie1481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

My sister, husband, daughter, and myself wanted to spend the night in Carmel. Since this was the cheapest hotel in downtown Carmel, I knew it would be not the greatest. The room was a bit floral '80's like. The bathroom was brand new very nice, I even think the floor was heated. We liked the separate bedroom and daubed and trundle in the living room. The room came with a tv and fridge. The only thing I can complain about is the thin walls. We heard a lot of jumping and what not from the room above. Breakfast was breads, no eggs of bacon or pancakes/waffles.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mehack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located within easy walking distance of lots of shops and restaurants. It's a nice clean little place but stuck in the 80's decor-wise. Lots of flowery fabrics. Very worn and patched carpet in room one where we stayed, but newly remodeled bathroom was spotless and shiny clean. Our room, right by the pool, was very quiet but I fear that might not be the case had the pool been open. Walls very thin and noise comes right thru. However, if a reasonable price is your goal in pricey Carmel, this hotel can be a good choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Affordable, walking distance to the main town, shops, and restaurants. But the rooms smell and unfortunately, we found a couple of BUGS on the bed. When we told the front desk about the bugs and that we couldn't stay there, he and his wife raised their voice at us and said we won't be able to find another hotel in town so we better drive back to LA. Good thing we found people in Carmel to tell us where we can stay... There were at least 5 other inns/hotels within a block. Same price, much cleaner, smells better, and waaaaaay better customer service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Laurie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ciasca, General Manager at Carmel Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay
a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service
to all of our guests at reasonable prices.
We want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are handled properly. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're doing wrong and how we can improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carmel hotels

Ottawa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Inn is in a great location: walking distance to just about all you want to see in town. Many other reviewers complain that the rooms are run-down. And, they certainly aren't modern, but they were clean and comfortable. For more money we would have got something fancier, but the breakfast and fast wifi made up for the aged-ness of the rooms. More money to spend on shoes for Mrs.

Wine and cheese is served between 4:30 and 6, which was a nice added touch. The breakfast, what can we say about the breakfast? Super! The actual common areas were very lovely, where both the wine and cheese and breakfast are served.

Parking seems to have been another complaint from reviewers. We actually parked on the street, having arrived when one of the few spots within the courtyard was available, and had no worries. This is the mean streets of Carmel.

Staff was friendly and helpful (William is super pleasant and seems to know everything!) if you have issues with the rooms: say something. The staff looks to be making an effort to improve.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Mitchasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,512 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 532 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#12 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carmel Village Inn
Carmel Village Inn
#24 of 25 in Carmel
3.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Inn & Suites

Property: Carmel Inn & Suites
Address: Junipero Ave& 5th Ave, PO Box 1295, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carmel Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two story Inn with modern guest amenities in rooms and suites; situated in the business district, near shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Carmel Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Carmel
Carmel Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing