We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carmel Inn & Suites
Ranked #25 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Horrible hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Affordable, walking distance to the main town, shops, and restaurants. But the rooms smell and unfortunately, we found a couple of BUGS on the bed. When we told the front desk about the bugs and that we couldn't stay there, he and his wife raised their voice at us and said we won't be able to find another hotel in town so we better drive back to LA. Good thing we found people in Carmel to tell us where we can stay... There were at least 5 other inns/hotels within a block. Same price, much cleaner, smells better, and waaaaaay better customer service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Laurie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ciasca, General Manager at Carmel Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay
a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service
to all of our guests at reasonable prices.
We want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are handled properly. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're doing wrong and how we can improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    47
    32
    16
    20
See reviews for
33
48
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Inn is in a great location: walking distance to just about all you want to see in town. Many other reviewers complain that the rooms are run-down. And, they certainly aren't modern, but they were clean and comfortable. For more money we would have got something fancier, but the breakfast and fast wifi made up for the aged-ness of the rooms. More money to spend on shoes for Mrs.

Wine and cheese is served between 4:30 and 6, which was a nice added touch. The breakfast, what can we say about the breakfast? Super! The actual common areas were very lovely, where both the wine and cheese and breakfast are served.

Parking seems to have been another complaint from reviewers. We actually parked on the street, having arrived when one of the few spots within the courtyard was available, and had no worries. This is the mean streets of Carmel.

Staff was friendly and helpful (William is super pleasant and seems to know everything!) if you have issues with the rooms: say something. The staff looks to be making an effort to improve.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Mitchasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Pray for quiet neighbors. If you can fall asleep with the musty smell in your room that's challenge 1 and if tourists with their kids don't come back at midnight yelling, screaming and jumping on beds good luck getting ahold of the front desk you can't call them you have to get dressed go down to the office and ring the doorbell several times and wake the guy up so now he has to get dressed to handle the ridiculously loud people who are next to you. This place is the worst place I have ever stayed!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carlyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ciasca, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay
a satisfying one. It's disappointing to learn that you were unhappy. Please accept our apology. We want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive are taken seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carmel hotels

telluride, colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here one night in May. I loved the proximity to State Street and the beach. We were able to walk everywhere. The room was clean and quiet. The hotel is looking a bit tired but management said renovations are scheduled for later this year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
186 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We were in the area without a reservation on Big Sur Marathon weekend so were thankful to get a room anywhere. This was perhaps the last room left in town! For about $200 we got this odd room with "fireplace" that was a space heater type of thing with a volume button for the
crackling sound of the "fire." All in all, fine for an overnight. Bed comfy and breakfast comes with the room. However, $200 on a hotel room would certainly get you something a little more memorable in another town. Have lunch and a stroll here and head to a town with more reasonable room rates -- or be prepared to spend more than $200 bucks for something fabulous in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngieB253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Nice bargain hotel with nice rooms including microwave, fridge, coffee maker, cable TV, free continental breakfast & Wi-Fi, small pool, good size rooms, nice place for the price, good location right at the start of the top of downtown Carmel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WayneDunlap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I like a firm mattress, but I've never slept on a more uncomfortable bed in my life. The pillows are just as bad. The room was clean, and the location is excellent. The bathroom appeared to be recently renovated, but the other annoyance is there is no shelf or ledge of any kind in the shower. There's a little table outside of the shower, but reaching out for soap and shampoo is inconvenient. The free WiFi was a nice bonus. I was happy we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theriverwear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ciasca, Front Office Manager at Carmel Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay
a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service
to all of our guests at reasonable prices. Consequently, it's disappointing to learn that you were unhappy. Please accept our apology. We want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're
doing wrong and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.2 mi away
Hofsas House Hotel
Hofsas House Hotel
#19 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Inn & Suites

Property: Carmel Inn & Suites
Address: Junipero Ave& 5th Ave, PO Box 1295, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carmel Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two story Inn with modern guest amenities in rooms and suites; situated in the business district, near shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carmel Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Inn And Suites
Carmel Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing