We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A comfortable, reasonably-priced place in an expensive area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmel Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carmel Inn & Suites
Ranked #25 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A comfortable, reasonably-priced place in an expensive area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

This was our third stay at the Carmel Inn & Suites. It has pretty much become our go-to place in Carmel for family trips.

Carmel is obviously an expensive destination, but this place is quite reasonably priced. Travelling with my wife and daughter, we've taken a suite each time that has a living room with a daybed for my daughter to sleep on, along with a separate bedroom with king-sized bed. We have generally paid between $100 and $150 for these accomodations, depending on the season. The living room and bedrom each has its own wall-mounted gas heater with individual thermostats--a nice feature on chilly, foggy Carmel winter evenings. The rooms are nicely decorated (though a little more frilly and feminine that most of us guys would prefer). The staff is friendly and accomodating. There is a small swimming pool, but unfortunately no hot tub/jacuzzi. The location is great--only two blocks off of Ocean Avenue, and only a block or two from many of Carmel's best restaurants.

I really have only one complaint about the place, and that's that the walls and floors seem a little thin, and guests in other rooms can be heard. The first time this happened, I thought it was just that the neighbors in the next room were loud (and they WERE, and also quite rude), but the last time we stayed we heard noises from the room next door (shouting kids and loud adult voices) and the room above us (the footsteps were so loud it sounded like they must've been wearing ski boots). Again, maybe it was just that these were particularly loud neighbors, but in the middle of the night I also even heard a guest SNORING in some other room, which would suggest the walls are a little too thin unless he happened to be an EXTREMELY loud snorer!

That aside, this is a very good place to stay, at a reasonable rate and in a good location. There's a reason we've returned in the past, and we undoubtedly will again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyberluddite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    44
    32
    14
    19
See reviews for
31
45
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

I reserved a on-redundable room directly from the hotel the day before my arrival. When I checked in the next day I was assigned the worse room. It was a oblong room facing the back of the hotel with a view of the building direcly behind the hotel. The heater was a stand alone unit not big enough to adequately heatt he room. I immediately went back and talked to the owner. I told him I was not satisfied with the room and adked if there was another room available. I told the owner why I did not like the room because it was to samall and had a bad location. He said ,"you are a single person and the room is big enough for you" He further said that were no other rooms available. I do not appreciate the bait and switch.

Room Tip: Do mmot go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ciasca, Public Relations Manager at Carmel Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
That particular room is the smallest queen room we have at the inn. But it does measure 12'x30' and it is a rectangular shape. The advantage is it offers the lowest rate guaranteed. We always suggest to our guest to visit our website and book directly. If you do choose the third party due to the frequent points than we suggest getting a king or suite room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carmel hotels

Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

We picked the Carmel Inn Suites off the internet and we totally lucked out it was very cute , the room was very clean and exactly what the website detailed, the rooms although on the small side are well decorated , bathroom worked fine, TV, and everything else was good. The parking is a little tight but I would still totally recommend it. Check inn was handled very nice by a gentleman with a british accent. Would totally go back there again. They also had a nice little continental breakfast setup....nice touch.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

I stayed at the Carmel Inn for just one night and fell in love with the city and hotel. I did not have a reservation, and and the reservationist Rana was so kind and helpful to me. She was wonderful. The room was beyond excellent and had a gorgeous decor and dreamy comfort. And the buffet breakfast the next morning was delicious. I definitely recommend the Carmel Inn. You will not be disappointed. Thank you Rana for everything.

Room Tip: Any room will be perfect for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathrow, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

We stayed here recently with friends. They upgraded us to a suite upon arrival, which made our stay even better. From this inn, you can walk to restaurants and shopping easily. I would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Very convienent location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

We booked two rooms to accommodate four adults for one night. Hotel staff greeted us warmly and handled check-in quickly. The rooms were a little small, but very clean. The bed was comfortable. We had trouble with the TV, but someone came to take care of it immediately. The parking lot is tight, to say the least. If you have a large SUV good luck. It's located within easy walking distance of many shops and restaurants. All four of us were satisfied with the Carmel Inn & Suites and would stay there again.

Room Tip: No elevator, if you have a lot of stuff go for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

We spent three days in Carmel in July 2011 and found the Carmel Inn and Suites to be comfortable and resonably priced in an expensive town. The room was ornately decorated with antiques and had a cheery atmosphere. A microwave, coffee-maker and mini-fridge were included. The inn is centrally located and we walked everywhere. The owners (a friendly couple) provided information about the town. There was free internet in the room. I especially appreciated the small breakfast room which thankfully did NOT have a loud TV with ugly CNN news programs like many hotels (this Inn played quiet classical music). The breakfast was simple but adequate (oatmeal, cereal, muffins, fruit, yogurt) and we had a chance to meet travelers from Hungary, Germany, French Canada and Portugal. We asked for a second-floor room which was quieter -- but there is no elevator, only stairs.

Room Tip: During peak travel season try to reserve your room early; we asked for a top-floor room which is qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookie064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hofsas House Hotel
Hofsas House Hotel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Inn & Suites

Property: Carmel Inn & Suites
Address: Junipero Ave& 5th Ave, PO Box 1295, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carmel Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two story Inn with modern guest amenities in rooms and suites; situated in the business district, near shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Carmel Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Inn And Suites
Carmel Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing