We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location and a great price for Carmel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea
Ranked #22 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
europe
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great location and a great price for Carmel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The right price for a great Carmel location. A hop, skip and jump from Ocean street shops, area galleries, and restaurants. Although the rooms are a bit small, they are quaint and comfortable. A breakfast basket is left at your doorstep. That's a nice touch!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    51
    46
    15
    17
See reviews for
32
90
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a nice looking hotel just a 5 minute walk from the shops. It has parking and check-in was efficient, if a little unfriendly. Our room was on the upper floor (there are two floors) and there is no lift. We had heavy luggage so this was a pain. The room was clean and comfortable but the decor was very quirky and the room felt very dark. There was no air-con so it was a bit uncomfortable at night. Carmel is clearly a very wealthy place, with numerous galleries and high-end jewellers. The beach is a 10 minute walk downhill from the main street, but there are no bars or restaurants down there. If you want to see the beach, drive down there as the walk back up the hill is a killer! If you are on a moderate budget, this may not be the place to stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor to avoid dragging cases upstairs in the absence of a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gftimes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
263 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very clean, comfortable room, a little on the small side if you were staying for a while but perfectly adequate for a night. A continental breakfast is delivered in a basket to your doorstep around 8 a.m. It’s nothing to get excited about, especially if you don’t eat gluten; we bypassed the cornflakes and packaged pastry but had the milk, orange and orange juice. This place is very good value for Carmel, which tends to be expensive. It’s a small town, with restaurants, shops and the beach a short walk away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripsterchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

After extensive research this was the cheapest we could find. Location great, decor very old and needs update.Walls very thin so can hear toilet flushes etc. No plug in sink but guy on desk very pleasant and provided one. Breakfast fine. Liked the basket delivery. For anyone visiting now ( we are leaving today) it is very cold and has been cloudy the whole time. Had to buy a coat. Go to Carmel Valley, 15 mins drive, where it is sunny and hot. Wear shorts amd T shirt. We went for a great walk in Garland Ranch regional Park and then on to a cafe called Toast in the village for lunch. Fantastic food then sat in the community park to enjoy sun at last. If you fancy a swim there is an outdoor pool and beds. Although Carmel is stunning the weather lets it down.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorri24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Wonderful location on 5th and Mission right in downtown Carmel by the Sea. I can't say enough positive things about this bed and breakfast place. Looking around this is probably the best value around at $125 for a 2 double suite. Like Jane S mentioned, high lodging and city tax of close to $20 so total comes to $145 but can't avoid it in this ritzy town of Carmel by the Sea. Other places were at the low $200 so nothing to complain here.

The room has a balcony which is nice and also comes with a microwave and fridge. The beds were comfortable for a double bed. My dad may not be used to sleeping on a double bed since he fell off in the middle of the night. The bathroom was nice with all granite flooring and walls in the shower (no bathtub). Breakfast was a basket filled with fruit punch, milk, cereal in a bowl, bananas, and granola bars.

We were able to check in an hour early and then walk to the beach within minutes. A bit of a hike to Carmel point where you can see the Frank Lloyd Wright house so we did it early the next day. Overall, a great experience and would not hesitate to come back. Just book early since the rooms tend to fill up quickly. There was only one 2 double room left just before July 4th and completely booked the next day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Although our room was small and the decor could do with an update, the location was perfect and it was great value for money in an expensive and exclusive town. Would definitely stay if we visited Carmel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woollym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed in Carmel for one-night during Big Sur Marathon weekend in April. It is a little hotel/motel, quite close to the beach and very close to the main street. I walked several times to the beach.

The hotel was neat and clean. The breakfast basket was nice - nothing extraordinary but just enough to start your early morning. Parking and wi-fi were free. Overall, it was good for a one-night stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ru5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
17.7 mi away
Quality Inn on 144 Kern Street
17.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Salinas
6.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Bay Breeze
Econo Lodge Bay Breeze
#5 of 13 in Seaside
3.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carmel Inn & Suites
Carmel Inn & Suites
#25 of 25 in Carmel
3.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
18.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Salinas
Econo Lodge Salinas
#24 of 26 in Salinas
3.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea

Property: Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea
Address: NE 5th & Mission, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea Hotel Carmel
Clarion Carmel
Carmel Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing