We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea
Ranked #23 of 25 Carmel B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Although our room was small and the decor could do with an update, the location was perfect and it was great value for money in an expensive and exclusive town. Would definitely stay if we visited Carmel again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woollym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 192 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed in Carmel for one-night during Big Sur Marathon weekend in April. It is a little hotel/motel, quite close to the beach and very close to the main street. I walked several times to the beach.

The hotel was neat and clean. The breakfast basket was nice - nothing extraordinary but just enough to start your early morning. Parking and wi-fi were free. Overall, it was good for a one-night stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ru5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Carmel is a place you cannot miss on your visit to California, even if it is for just one day as I did. Already knowing Carmel was a very expensive town, I was worried I couldn’t find accommodations at a reasonable price. It is a very small town, so location is not essential as you are within walking distance from, well, anything!. There are plenty of restaurants, art galleries, high end clothing stores, and not one starbucks or McDonalds!!
Let me tell you the Clarion Hotel surpassed my expectations regarding location and quality. For under $100, the place is clean, great bed, TV, beautifully decorated, well located and offers free internet and a free breakfast basket! Of course there are much better places around, but I wouldn’t hesitate to book this place again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaluPena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights here and apart from the colour of the ceiling the room was very good. there was plenty of room to get around.
Your continental breakfast was dropped outside your room in the morning in a basket. This was a good idea because you could sit in your room and eat your breakfast at leisure.
The hotel is located in Carmel town and easy to get to all shops and resturaunts.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andjanRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We liked this little hotel/motel for its throw back to another time. Its reasonably priced and comfortable in a bohemian kind of way. Its probably the least fancy hotel in town and the furniture looks like its from an upscale garage sale, but it all works here for us. The location is very good for walking aroung the town. The front desk people were very nice and the free breakfast was good but basic - although it does get delivered to you at 8.30 each day. The real highlight is the town, the beach (just head down the hill 10 min) and the area. Budget ideas? Well, we got this hotel on hotwire. We got groupons for bike rentals in Monteray (awesome - all along the waterfront bike path) and we had a picnic on the beach here and on the fantastic drive to Big Sur. If you are driving to Big Sur, you can skip the (pay) drive on 17 mile drive. You can walk the beach right to the famous Pebble beach golf course. Although you will be very close to the course on the beach (I threw a couple golf balls back from the beach) you cant see much of it because its elevated from the beach. There is a way up from the beach but there was a friendly guard on duty.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrucefromVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Do not book this room without carefully looking at the Carmel Oaks Inn website. The walls are a loud mustard gold that looks like glue was left on the walls after wallpaper was removed. The furniture was painted over rather than updated. If you are looking for a relaxing stay in Carmel, this is not the place. I will say that the staff was pleasant and the room was clean, but it does NOT look like the pictures on the choice hotels site. And Coice/Clarion customer relations says it off like it's a "nice marbled look." I regret booking this room through Choice Hotels. It would be different if they had the right pictures on their site, but they're not and Choice has opted to not take responsibility. In fact they said "The description says it's a boutique hotel so the pictures may not match."

Room Tip: Don't book through Choice. Call the hotel directly and find out if they have their own website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmeloaks, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

We're concerned about the problems you've experienced at our hotel during your recent visit. We're writing to thank you for taking the time to share. We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. Consequently, it's disappointing to learn that you're unhappy.
Please accept our sincere apology.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The inn is conveniently located a block away from the heart of downtown, although it was a little difficult to find at first as we arrived late at night and there were no street lights and no property numbers, just "cross-street names". We looped around the block a couple of times before finally spotting this place.

The inn itself is a little old, but it is decently clean, quiet and somewhat safe. I liked the location very much as it was within walking distance to some great restaurants in the neighbourhood.

The decor in the room was rather interesting, and they served us breakfast in a small basket that was left outside your room door every morning. The food was average though - some granola bar, milk, orange juice, bananas, but there's a good brunch place just 2 minutes walk away :)

Overall, for the price I paid (on hotwire), it was a decent deal. I'd stay here again, if only for the wonderful location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.0 mi away
Carmel Inn & Suites
Carmel Inn & Suites
#25 of 25 in Carmel
162 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
629 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carmel Wayfarer Inn
Carmel Wayfarer Inn
#24 of 25 in Carmel
409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carmel Fireplace Inn
Carmel Fireplace Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea

Address: NE 5th & Mission, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range: $101 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea Hotel Carmel
Clarion Carmel
Carmel Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing