We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, dated property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea
Ranked #23 of 25 Carmel B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We got a great deal on hotwire so this is one of those "you get what you pay for" experiences. The hotel is located on a "corner" with no real address so get good directions because your GPS won't be able to find it. It's walking distance to great shops and art galleries. Small town feel. Good for walking around and exploring.

The room was small with dated decor but they made the best use of space. The walls in our room were painted a bright sunny yellow but in an awful sponge painted technique. It was really wierd and looked like stained walls. Not pleasant to look at.

The front desk closes at 8:00 p.m. but there is a phone if you need to reach someone after hours. Breakfast is served in a picnic basket at your doorstep which was cute. Raisin bran, milk, danish, bananas, granola bars.

Overall it was fine but I probably would only stay here for a good deal under $80 a night.



It had everything you need in a basic room, but truly nothing special.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 185 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

I booked two rooms for a three night stay over the holidays, one queen and one king. Without a doubt, and as many previous reviewers have already commented, the establishment is dated and the property is not bashful of showing its dated details. Just look at the property sign near the entrance to the parking lot - it's missing letters! With that said, the rooms are pretty decent for what it's worth. It is like an amped up Motel 6 room at the heart of Carmel. The rates are about $95.00/night + taxes, which is hard to beat. Remember, you're in Carmel, not in Twentynine Palms. The bathroom appears to have been updated with full granite counter and shower stall, which is an eye opener and also a stark contrast to the rest of the room. The armoire opens up to a flatscreen television set and a mini fridge, perfect accommodation for simple travelers like us. Second floor rooms are also equipped with a balcony with a table for two for some fine wine at night. I also appreciate how the staff leaves a basket filled with pastry, fruits, cereals, mini orange juice and milk cartons between 8:30am to 9:00am every morning. The entire property is very small; there is a small lobby just big enough to check guests in and out and no space for breakfast like in other properties or bed & breakfasts in and around Carmel. Despite the small size of the property, the Clarion Collection makes the effort to provide a morning's breakfast to their guests. While the cold breakfast isn't the greatest, it's the effort that counts. In my eyes, this place deserves a 4-star rating. It doesn't get a complete 5 star because of several small annoyances. For one, our room (#315) did not have a waste basket for trash. I though this was odd and accepted it as part of the room feat, but on the 3rd day, a waste basket magically appeared! Another annoyance is the digital fireplace heater (which was very cool) did not work in my parents' room down in #301. Again, just minor annoyances. We're simple travelers and tend to overlook a lot of minor issues as long as the overall stay is satisfactory.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor if you'd like a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

GOOD LOCATION BUT NOT WORTH THE PRICE
If location and price are both essential Clarion (aka Carmel Oaks) is well situated in downtown Carmel, close to the ocean. Prices are not budget although the hotel condition is. Lowest price rooms are about $90-100/night and for weekends $140-150 plus Carmel’s hefty 12%. Based on our two experiences at Clarion, we suggest the nearby Comfort Inn or for good price/value but a bit farther away, the Carmel Village Inn. The most affordable comfortable and convenient motels/hotels in this area are in Monterey, a 10 minute drive.
PLUSES:
-Location
-Among the moderately priced motels in Carmel.

MINUSES:
-Rooms are small and not well maintained.
-No microwave
-Wifi unreliable. Keep dropping so repeated logins necessary.
-TV not viewable from sleeping area in the units we have stayed in.
-Cold breakfast basket that arrived between 8:30and 9:00am: contents milk, orange juice, packaged roll, banana, candy bar.
-Room coffee almost undrinkable.
-At 2pm we had to ask for maid service even after being away 9-1:45.
-No 24 hour staffing of service desk. And staff is minimally friendly.
-Very limited parking

Room Tip: Second floor rooms might be slightly quieter and a few have a distant ocean view if you have very go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BudgetTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ciasca, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Thank you for your concern and staying with us. Our suites are larger rooms and of course those rooms has TV by the sitting area. Our all rooms do have refrigerator but microwave is available at the club house area. Some rooms do have microwave and the guest can specifically request accordingly. Our hotel hours has always been from 8 am til 9 pm and our staff do mention when checking in to the hotel. Our housekeeping do concern the guest privacy and they do not disturb when there is a sign. We thank you for your business and hope you will stay with us again the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed here for our second time last weekend since we were in Carmel for a friend's wedding. The first time was a one night stint as part of a road trip from Ventura county to Nor Cal. In general Carmel is super cute and full of great restaurants and shopping (actual shopping or just the window varietal), Most places here are B&B's and many have a 2 night minimum and the price is at least $200 per night. We were able to get a suite for $149 per night. Now, this place definitely needs a refresh. It feels a little dated and the furniture is a little bit old. However, everything is clean, which is the most important thing to me. Our suite had the normal bedroom plus a separate sitting area with a coffee table and work desk, but the kicker was a separate kitchen in a separate "room" with a fridge, microwave, sink. We have an 8 month old so it was ideal since we could set up her crib in there and still have our separate area without bothering her while she was sleeping.

Not only is there a lot of space given what you are paying, the town is so small that you are literally in walking distance to everything. The location is great! Good spot - Casanova - is across the street and the Hog's Breath Inn (one of the very few drinking spots that stays open late) is one very short block down. They also deliver a breakfast basket in the morning with cereal, milk, juice, pastry.

So, if you are looking for luxury this isn't your spot. But if you are looking for something comfortable for a good value I would 100% recommend this place. And the next time we come to Carmel I would definitely stay again - the true sign of the quality of a hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the king suite. King suite has a separate kitchen area that is not available in the queen su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruingirl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I found ourselves here later one night (10pm-ish). We had intended to stay in Big Sur, but amateur travelers that we are, we didn't think EVERYTHING would be booked on a Sunday night in October. So we kept driving to Carmel and sought lodging counsel from our GPS. We called Clarion's 800# and got one of the last two rooms of the night. The room was great! Clean, spacious, pleasant decor. As part of the room rate, we received an unexpected basket on our doorstep in the morning. Bananas, cereal, milk, orange juice, granola bar and a cinnamon role. A lovely touch! We highly recommend this Clarion.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyTPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Booked a room here for a last minute weekend get away. Honestly I was a little nervous after reading some of the reviews and seeing some of the pictures. But, they had rooms and a good price.

After arriving, all of my concerns quickly went away. Staff at check in was welcoming and quick. The room was clean and you could tell it was recently updated and the bed was comfortable. A nice little breakfast basket was delivered each morning. It was a good "snack" to get to get to lunch time.

We had a little issue with our heater. We let the front desk know and they looked at it right there and had it fixed by the time we returned to our room. We would stay here again,

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Initially we were looking to book one of the higher priced hotels/B&B's in Carmel but decided for the price we really wouldn't be making enough use of the room as we would be out and about so we opted for the cheapest option which was the Clarion Carmel (£50).

I expected to find a slightly run down, musty smoke smelling place which we were willing to accept given the price compared to other hotels etc in the area but we were wrong to judge.

On arrival the girl on reception greeted us with such a happy face that you couldn't help feeling excited about something, she was great, had us checked in immediately and told us all about the area where to go for shopping and restaurants etc.

We made our way to the room and were surprised to walk into a lovely, fresh soap and flowers aroma. The room was a good size, much bigger than we were expecting. The decor was quite floral, very cutesy with little knick knacks around the room like small pottery pots that they had put little candy sweets in. The bed (most importantly) was a very comfy double, the bed covers felt and looked clean.

The bath room had a lovely shower and some very useful and thoughtful amenities including the usual shampoo, moisturiser and also sachets of toothpaste and make up removers.

8am Breakfast Basket Arrived with Orange Juice, Cereal, Cinnamon Horns, Bananas, Milk, Chocolate Chew Bar, Peanut Butter Bar and Milk and a US Today Newspaper.

The hotel was a 1-2 minute walk to Ocean Avenue.

This hotel is amazing value, you can't beat it for location and price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kegan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ciasca, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Thank you for choosing Clarion Carmel Oaks Inn for your recent stay in CITY. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your time and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.0 mi away
Carmel Inn & Suites
Carmel Inn & Suites
#25 of 25 in Carmel
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
616 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge
0.1 mi away
Carmel Wayfarer Inn
Carmel Wayfarer Inn
#24 of 25 in Carmel
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea

Address: NE 5th & Mission, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range: $111 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea Hotel Carmel
Clarion Carmel
Carmel Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing