We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room Tour Review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carmel Fireplace Inn
Ranked #20 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Room Tour Review”
Reviewed October 31, 2010

My Husband and I came to Carmel for our Anniversary, October 29-31 2010. After weeks of looking up Inns and searching the web for reviews, we decided to stay at the Adobe Inn. We decided to take some time to see other Inns/Bed & Breakfasts that we had seriously looked into staying and wanted to see for ourselves what the rooms really looked like. Websites can be deceiving! We are also Travel Agents, so seeking out other places to stay was important to us for recommendations.

For the moment we walked into the Lobby, the man was so nice and walked us to a room to see. He said that all their rooms are different, which qualifies them as a bed & breakfast. They all have fireplaces in them, but no jacuzzi tubs (their "sister company" the Briarwood Inn, which is located across the street has jacuzzi tubs in the room)

We saw the "Pescadero" room. King bed with fireplace. The room was charming and looked just like the pictures they have on their website. Bathroom wasn't anything special. Hotel style.. tub/shower and toilet in one little room with door and vanity outside. A plus was this room had a flat screen TV... an upgrade compared to most. The hotel lobby was bigger than some we saw and had some sitting for breakfast. Overall, we thought this place was cute and charming. Out of all the other Inns we reviewed while there, this one would be on top of the list to try the next time we come to Carmel.

Overall thought about Inns in Carmel.... they have all been around for a while, so it seems like a dated look is pretty standard. You have to look for charm and quaintness that fits your style.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmilyHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    78
    36
    25
    10
See reviews for
40
114
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Typical charming Carmel Inn, however, the rooms were not comfortable.
The beds were horrible. I ended up sleeping on the floor.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank NDS605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carmel hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2010

From the moment George answered the phone to take our reservation, I could tell that this was a special place. They didn't disappoint. The hotel was cozy and comfortable. Loved the warm fireplace in every room since it's a relatively chilly town. The complimentary breakfast was delicious. The staff was super friendly and almost overly accommodating (the 65+ year old female manager broke a sweat literally running to find a crib for my friend's baby). The hotel was right in the middle of a very charming town. I recommend this hotel whole heartedly!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LEDSMontezuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2010

We had a great time at the Fireplace Inn!! Would definitely stay again! The room was very cozy and the beds are very comfortable. And George rules!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachc0mbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We were told of this Inn by friends and stopped by while in Carmel and stayed there for two nights. We had a different room each night and both were great, clean, cozy, roomy and the fireplace really added to the experience. The staff were lovely, breakfast was fine and you could take it to your room or eat in the cozy breakfast area. We also loved the gardens. We would recommend this Inn and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane0061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2010

The spacious room with fireplace, comfortable furniture, large flat screen TV and sea cottage decor gave us the feel of being in a small cozy private home. The breakfast area is small but very charming and a great place to mingle both at breakfast time and in the evenings when the owner serves a free glass port or brandy. The Inn has a very good selection of movies one can borrow for free on rainy days... loved the place and will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bstoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Fireplace Inn over Christmas. It is a cute little getaway tucked away on one of Carmel's convenient feeder streets. It is very close to all the shopping and restaurants, as well as easy to get to from the main highway.

The property consists of a garden courtyard surrounded by rooms - all with outside doors. There is a main lobby which is on the street which doubles as the breakfast area. The courtyard is fairly secluded and cut off from the traffic of Carmel which makes it a nice quiet respite from the busy Carmel foot traffic. There is off-street parking which is important in Carmel, but the lot is small and tight - best suited for small cars. Once parked, though, you will never need you car whilst in Carmel.

As I stated, the location is great. The Inn is located only a few blocks from the main street in Carmel and is just a few walking minutes from all of Carmel’s restaurants. The beach is located down the hill from the main town center and is about a 10-15 minute walk from the Fireplace Inn. It is, though, quite a hike back up from the beach, but this is true for almost every hotel in Carmel. The ocean in Carmel is typically very cold, so the beach is more for strolling than swimming.

The rooms are definitely on the small side with fairly low ceilings. There are, as the name indicates, fireplaces in each room, but they are gas. The furnishings are fairly dated, but not shabby and the rooms are tasteful. As well, the bed was comfortable. The bathroom is small, but workable. If you are looking for 5 star luxury, this is not the place, but if you in the mood for very quaint rooms that are clean and comfortable, this is a great choice.

Breakfast was included and was adequate. You definitely will not be stuffed after this meal, but it was fresh and very tasty. You take breakfast in the main lobby which is very quaint and the staff is extremely friendly.

Carmel is a great place to spend some time and the Fireplace Inn is a nice little getaway with a great location. It is clean, conservatively decorated and comfortable, but is not a 5 star hotel by any means. If you are looking for the "Carmel Experience,” this is a great option.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2W3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,640 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
578 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
637 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
0.2 mi away
Normandy Inn
Normandy Inn
#12 of 25 in Carmel
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Fireplace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Fireplace Inn

Property: Carmel Fireplace Inn
Address: San Carlos St. at 4th, P.O. Box 4082, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carmel Fireplace Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Carmel Fireplace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Fireplace Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing