We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cozy in carmel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carmel Fireplace Inn
Ranked #20 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Miami
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“cozy in carmel”
Reviewed August 18, 2005

Carmel Fireplace Inn was a last minute substitute when a relative dropped out of the trip. It is well located in Carmel. We liked the chocolate chip cookies on arrrival, the fireplace, spacious unit (#17) with a cozy kitchen. Housekeeping did our dishes and hung up clothes. The breakfast basket was well stocked if not deluxe. The large jacuzzi was a bit sedate for our kids but might be just right for others. Main complaint was a substantial amount of neighbor noise from poor insulation. Like everything else in Carmel, it is not cheap. The Carmel Sands Inn across the street looks like a comparable stay if the Fireplace Inn is full.

Helpful?
2 Thank seagrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    78
    36
    25
    10
See reviews for
40
114
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2005

We went to Carmel for a nice romantic getaway in late Feb 05. We enjoyed our stay ar the Fireplace Inn. Room #36 was very nice, with both a gas fireplace and a heater. It had lots of windows with nice light, and a view of the bay. The king bed was separated from the living room by a square archway, wich made for a nice feeling of space. The living-room area had a nice Sony TV and pretty chairs, and a small refrigerator. Everything was in fine condition.
The B&B was well-located, 2 blocks from the center of the main downtown street. and there are many other B&B/Hotels nearby. The staff (and owner) were all extremely friendly. I think the continental breakfast was above average, with a nice selection of fruit, and they had nicer pastries in addition to the usual Costco muffins. On-site parking is very minimal, but there's a fair amount of street parking nearby, both 90 minute and unlimited. The had a decent selection (50-100 titles) of free movies for use in the in-room VCRs.
By Carmel lodging standards, we felt it was a very good value (somewhat below $200) and we'd stay there again.

Helpful?
6 Thank jrw88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano, California
Level Contributor
334 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2005

This is an older property (mid-fifties?) with VERY limited parking. The location is excellent, and the breakfast is very nice. The funky room (#22) was called "medium size" - I'd hate to see what they call "small." The only heat for our mid-January visit was the little metal gas fireplace, which made "tick-tick" noises off and on during the night. We heard footsteps and water running from the room upstairs, and quiet conversation from the room next door. After a poor night's sleep, we left a day early.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rwwaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carmel hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 1, 2004

We stayed at the Fireplace Inn for 5 nights during the middle of August. We stayed in a two bedroom with a fireplace. It was on the second floor and nicely appointed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The kids watched the free VHS movies during our stay and we enjoyed the continental breakfast as well. My only suggestion would be to install ceiling fans because during the evenings there was no breeze and rooms got hot, even with the windows open.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2004

We enjoyed our small room here. After reading the previous review on this site, I was worried we would be disappointed with a tiny room, but though ours was small, it was quite large enough for two people. The fireplace was a nice touch, and it warmed things nicely, but since we weren't planning on sitting in front of it roasting marshmellows, it really didn't matter that it was a small unit, sitting away from the wall a little bit. Our room opened into a small courtyard, a nice place to sit and read a paper (provided in the office) while enjoying the morning.
The breakfast was nice, bagels and apple/banana bread, and though it wasn't elaborate, I was quite full when finished. The office had a wall of videos that could be borrowed at no charge (though we had seen most of them, or were not interested).
The only down sides: Our room got very hot one night (this was in May). We had to open a window. And we could hear the people upstairs walking around for a while till they went to sleep. But these were small complaints.
The inn is a short walk to the center of town. Overall we enjoyed this place and hope to stay again.

Helpful?
7 Thank Bobbbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 14, 2004

Their website has the nerve to call the continental breakfast "truly outstanding". I have to disagree- how coffee, orange juice, and bagels, assorted loaf cakes(such as bananna bread,etc.), and muffins _ all of which resemble the goodies from Costco can be described as "outstanding"! Furthermore-I overheard a guest who was checking out complain about sand in her bed and how she slept wrapped up in a blanket. All the guy behind the desk did was joke "how she must of brought the sand". Sounds to me like the linens wern't changed after the previous guest left. But - what do you expect for less than $200 bucks a night in Carmel?

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2004

When we booked our room we were told that the only room available was "A Bit smaller". The room ended up being 8 x 16. With a name like The Fireplace Inn and pictures on their web site showing large rooms with full fireplaces we were very disapointed that the fireplace was no more then a glorified space heater. The was room 33, which looked like a converted garage. When they wrote the verbage of a romantic get away they were not thinking of room 33. The night person said when she takes a reservation she tells people the size of the room, this is because of the disapointment people feel when they walk in this shoe box of a room. Our friends stayed in the other larger rooms with nice big beds and fireplaces in the wall. NO ON ROOM 33.

Helpful?
14 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
0.3 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Normandy Inn
Normandy Inn
#13 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Fireplace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Fireplace Inn

Property: Carmel Fireplace Inn
Address: San Carlos St. at 4th, P.O. Box 4082, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carmel Fireplace Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Carmel Fireplace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Fireplace Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing