We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carmel Fireplace Inn
Ranked #20 of 25 Carmel B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed in room 27. Our room was cute and european. Looked fairly reno'd and nice and clean. It was so quiet. Never heard our neighbours once and the place was fully booked all week. The location is amazing. A walk to everything including the beach (about 15 minutes). There is a big hill to climb on the way back from the beach but it sure beats trying to find parking at the beach. We would stay here easily if staying right in the village. We spent most of our time in the Valley because we found the food far better than the tourist places in the village. We spent the rest of our time at the beach. I might add we are super fussy on hotels and food. I would have given it a 5 star rating except the wifi was hit and miss. I found if you used it on off hours it was decent but at night when most people were back it was dog slow.

Room Tip: Room 27 was great. We had no issues with parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 219 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

I spent one night on our road trip from LA to San Francisco. Really nice place in a lively street, this is an interesting point considering that Carmel is a very tiny town with no many things to do. The worst: not enough towells (only one and we were two!!). The best: the breakfast yummy!!

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Daiana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We discovered Carmel Fireplace Inn by researching a Living Social ad. We were too late to get the advertised deal, but my husband called directly, and was luckily given a great rate on one of their smaller rooms. We stayed there for two nights, thoroughly enjoying every moment of our stay. The hotel, made up of several individual cottages, was truly charming & quaint. Although the Inn is somewhat dated, our cottage was extremely clean. The bedding was crisp and comfortable, and the towels were plentiful. I did discover a few bugs in the room, but figured it was due to the fact that the dutch doors had been left open for a while, & they might of sneaked in. The location was absolutely perfect- walking distance to everything. We never used our car except for the morning we drove to Monterey to explore Cannery Row. Other than that, no need to drive at all. We ate at Clint Eastwoods Hogs Breath the first night, & Flattery's the second evening. We weren't impressed with Flattery's, but the waitress was incredibly kind, and tried her best to help us. All in all, the trip was enjoyable, and we have nice memories of our stay in Carmel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ledesmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

A random pick to break the drive from LA to San Fran and we were very lucky here. Very twee place that matched the town. Nice room with comfy bed. Breakfast good bagel choice, cinnamon and raisin was my favourite and again welcoming breakfast area looking out on the plants and flower that are everywhere. Final bonus is off street parking which was handy for unloading.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Fidge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a total surprise to us how lovely and well kept gem in Carmel By The Sea. The staff is so warm and thoughtful. The garden has fully blossom flowers and water fountain. We stay in the smallest room they have but still very comfortable. The hotel is actually B & B and they offer very pleasant breakfast area and good choice for free. We will definitely come back again and again.

Room Tip: Any room in this B & B will be good. I personally prefer upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kai yin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed at the Carmel Fireplace Inn for one night on our travel down the coast from San Fransisco to Santa Monica. Robin greeted us in a very welcoming manner and was happy to answer all our questions regarding all things Carmel. She is a bubbly, happy personality and we warmed to her immediately. We had no problem parking the car close by. The accommodation was more than adequate and met our needs. It was very clean and is situated in a very quiet spot. Carmel is a beautiful place and even after a day there it left lasting memories for us to take back home to Australia.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed here on our PCH trip up from LA to SF and our first experience was when we arrived early (12 noon) . We knew we were early and just wanted to park the car and take a stroll around Carmel before checking in.
The Receptionist , Mexican or Phillipino, greeted us with "you too early you come back later" no hello or nice to see you !.
When we did check in later in the day we were greeted by an American lady and she could not do enough for us.
The room I would describe as Twee and although dated it was clean enough. Location was good - not far from the main town and there was no traffic noise.
My wife and I lunched at the Village Corner and 4 hours later we were both very sick - as we had not eaten anything but fruit in the morning it could only have been food poisoning from this place.
Unfortunately this illness wiped us out for the next 3 days of our holiday but I am in no way attributing any blame to the Fireplace Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kempian2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
618 reviews
0.1 mi away
Briarwood Inn
Briarwood Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Carmel Green Lantern Inn
0.0 mi away
Candle Light Inn
Candle Light Inn
#10 of 25 in Carmel
377 reviews
0.0 mi away
Svendsgaard's Inn
Svendsgaard's Inn
#12 of 25 in Carmel
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Fireplace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Fireplace Inn

Address: San Carlos St. at 4th, P.O. Box 4082, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range: $119 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carmel Fireplace Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Carmel Fireplace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Fireplace Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing