We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carmel Fireplace Inn
Ranked #20 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

We booked a last minute/spontaneous overnight trip to Carmel and found online the Carmel Fireplace Inn. We stayed in the San Antonio room and were nicely surprised. It had all of the amenities we needed for a one night stay and a very cozy gas fireplace plus a flat screen TV. We liked that it was quietly tucked in the back and it seemed like it was a separate little cabin on it's on. We were fortunate enough that the one wall the room shared with another, there wasn't any occupants the night we stayed there. It seemed like a rustic old bed and breakfast, very quaint and inviting. My husband and I were very happy with our choice. We didn't eat the breakfast there since we ventured around in the morning ending up at the most delightful little place called Pastries and Petals that had the best pull apart cinnamon roll and vanilla latte. Back to our room, I'm almost nervous about posting about the room since we'd love it to be available when we plan to go back. I'm sure the other rooms are nice, but we really liked the room we were in. If you're looking for luxury this isn't the place for you, but if you are looking for that special little place for a romantic spontaneous getaway then this is the perfect place. We loved the fireplace burning all night and it kept our room warm an cozy. We also loved that it was facing the bed rather than to the side. The bed could have been a little more comfier since it was a little springy/bouncy. I'm sure a pillow top would be wonderful, but you can't have everything. Can't wait to head back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bakingmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    78
    35
    25
    10
See reviews for
40
113
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

Amazing stay in cottage w/family & dog!! VERY CLEAN. Friendly, courteous staff!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruisinjlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

we arrived late in carmel. there are no street lights or neon signs. we could not find a hotel, then when we did it was full. but, just around the corner, we were told was this place... very cute, old fashioned in a good way, big rooms, nice bathroom. in our price range, and breakfast included! easy walk to the main shopping and to the beach. and yes, there is a gas fireplace in the room. recommended !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dan y dena r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco,cal.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

Have been staying at The Fireplace Inn since the 1980ish . Love it! It is a low key Inn .The service at the front desk always friendly.
The rooms are comfortable and nice , the location can not be beat! Just far enough from Ocean Ave yet close enough to walk back from dinner anywhere around Ocean ave.
Love the fireplaces in room when we go during the many cool months.
Breakfast is simple but enough . Have 90% of the time , found parking on the Inn property or the street next to it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiadeKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

I was at this inn for 2 nights. The staff was wonderful, but they could not make up for the structure. It was a warm couple of days for Carmel, but I'm sure this is not the first time ever that weather in Carmel was warm. The Inn does not have air conditioning, nor did they have ceiling fans and they had no portable fans for the guests. A 2nd floor room was extra hot. The windows didn't all have screens either. Very uncomfortable.

Very small room...once the luggage got in the room, there was hardly room to walk around. The outside was very nice and I saw someone working on the landsacaping almost all the time. That resource would have been better used working on the inside. The electrical outlets in general did not work. They may have been original to the early 50's structure and were so well-used that most plugs did not connect. Couldn't charge phone and dry hair at the same time!

It was clean.

I paid $220 per night for this room.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank g a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carmel hotels

London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

Firstly - a quick post on Carmel - it is a very pretty quaint place - but if I am honest, probably more suited for older golfers, or couples. We are glad we visited and saw the town, but probably did not need to stay for the night. A lot of very expensive restaurants, which looked very nice, but not our favourite location on the trip.

This was our first experience of staying in an Inn in America. I suppose for any British people reading this, that have not stayed in Inn's, it is our equivalent of a B&B. We were impressed with this, and glad we had decided to go with Inn's rather than hotels for the rest of our trip.

Prior to booking we thought we would arrive after the check in time, but a quick e-mail explaining our situation, and they happily provided us a procedure for how to obtain our room keys. In the end we arrived early, and managed to check in before it was too late.

We stayed in the Pescadero room, and it was huge! Really clean, had a nice fire (too warm to use), and a fridge, and wireless that was easily connected to. It had a car park on site, and close enough for us easily to drag our luggage to our room.

Breakfast was small and limited, but suited us down to the ground, as we had eaten late the night before, and were heading to Monterey for some lunch not much later.

The only issue we had was that after we had walked to the beach in the morning, we wanted to check out, and the receptionist was away, which meant we had to delay our checkout by approx 15 mins - but this did not detract from the experience.

A short walk to the main town area (a couple of blocks) and we had access to everything Carmel had to offer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fats25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

we stayed here during the Pebble Beach car show--it was the perfect location, lovely breakfast, clean, and charming--

Room Tip: any room is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seetheworld2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.3 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Normandy Inn
Normandy Inn
#13 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Fireplace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Fireplace Inn

Property: Carmel Fireplace Inn
Address: San Carlos St. at 4th, P.O. Box 4082, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carmel Fireplace Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Carmel Fireplace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Fireplace Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing