We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!”
Review of Candle Light Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candle Light Inn
Ranked #10 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomingdale, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay!”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Our room was very nice, beds were comfortable, very clean.Good quality robes were provided. The room included a mini fidge with bottled water as well as a Keurig coffee maker. We really enjoyed the outdoor fireplace! We would recommend this hotel and would love to return!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onvacation232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    123
    33
    17
    6
See reviews for
81
193
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corona, California
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Pleasant, clean, well-maintained, quiet (save for the seagulls talking at us), reasonably-priced, an easy walk to downtown, *very* comfy beds and pillows. Friendly service, coffee and cookies at the office. Breakfast is delivered to your door in a cooler bag but we didn't have any as we ate in town. We stayed in Room 10 and had a view of the ocean and plenty of space for the 3 of us.
Very satisfied.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10, upstairs corner room. Right by stairs but never heard any noise related to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rwdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Great location and pleasant service! Our room was very spacious and functional.
The Feb weather limited the use of the fire pit and sitting outdoors. The grounds were well kept. We plan on staying at this location for our annual trip to Carmel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mithra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

My husband and I have visited Carmel every year for more than 20 years. Of the many motels in which we have stayed, this one has been the best. Last month we stayed in an upstairs room in the front building. The room has been renovated and is lovely. Breakfast was delivered to our door each morning and was very tasty. So glad to have parking off the street and to be within walking distance of everything. The management is very gracious and helpful. Excellent value for the money.

Room Tip: Front building, preferably upstairs. We have a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smoothwaters_lja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Definitely enjoyed our stay at Candle Light Inn. Within walking distance of shops and restaurants, a bit further to the ocean (downhill). Rooms were clean and comfortable. Fire pit outside for sitting. Office staff very nice - in fact they had packages of cookies for us when we left!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Njoytravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Fireplace in the room. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. Nice continental breakfast left at front door in the morning. Good coffee. We stayed in the room with three beds. Very nice for three adults. The main room stayed warm due to the fireplace. The separate room with third bed was cooler. An extra blanket was in the closet. Just know the temperature differences if you stay.
Very good value for the three of us.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with three beds. Two beds were in the main room with fireplace. The third be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sadiesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We were passing through Carmel without a reservation and found the Candle Light Inn. A quick search for reviews and we gave it a try. The front desk clerk was pleasant and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable.

We only stayed the one night, but want to return for a longer stay!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
873 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#17 of 25 in Carmel
289 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candle Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candle Light Inn

Property: Candle Light Inn
Address: San Carlos Street, Between 4th and 5th Avenues, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candle Light Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This romantic Tudor-style inn located in the heart of Carmel offers charm and warmth with a friendly staff providing gracious and personalized service. Candle Light Inn features 20 large guest rooms and suites and a variety of amenities including continental breakfast, daily newspaper delivery, off-street parking, and in-room gourmet coffee service. All guests will also enjoy staying connected with free local phone calls and in-room wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Candle Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candle Light Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing