We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Little Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candle Light Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Candle Light Inn
Ranked #11 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed here for two nights in September 2013 and was given a warm welcome by Jeremy upon my arrival. He asked if it was my first time in Carmel, which it was, so he handed me a map, marking the inn and directing me to the main stretch of local restaurants, advising it was a short walk, which it was. Jeremy also provided a list of restaurants which offer discounts if you show your room key card, which was great. I was staying in room 1, behind the fire pit, which I was slightly concerned about as there were a large group of guests sitting around the (unlit) fire and could hear them from inside my room. The room was large, with a modern bathroom and comfortable bed, plus a seating area. Each night you mark your continental breakfast choices on a menu and leave it under your doormat, and this is delivered the next morning in a cooler bag to your doorstep with the local paper. Don't expect gourmet, but it's a nice touch, especially as many smaller places such as this don't offer breakfast and few places include it in the price of the room. After dinner at one of the restaurants suggested, I returned to the inn, making use of the hot drink facilities in the reception - as well as a quick chat to Jeremy, the same the next day as well, with him calling me by name and knowing which room I was staying in, a really nice aspect of staying somewhere like Candle Light Inn. At night, the fire pit is lit, which was nice to sit by with a drink - I was also not bothered by people sitting talking by the pit at night, when the Inn put the fire out, they ask guests to respect that people may be sleeping, so no issues. I really had a great stay and would recommend that people choose Candle Light Inn for their stay in Carmel, they offer personal service, comfortable and clean rooms in a beautiful building and their rates are reasonable. I'd also suggest that everyone makes sure they head to the beach to watch the sunset, which was stunning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cw19_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    111
    29
    17
    6
See reviews for
71
170
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stopped in Carmel for a night on our way down the pacific coast.....and stayed at this lovely inn. We had a family room (extra bedroom) and the amenities were just perfect. The inn staff were helpful and welcoming. Location is great - walk to every restaurant, the beach....and on a quiet treelined street. We will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofia70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Inn's location is ok. It's not a far walk at all to the main area. The rooms are clean and updated.

We arrived late and the deadline for sending in our breakfast request was over. However, we tried anyway and in the morning, there was breakfast at our door. It was a good way to start the day. The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful.

But I think the town is so small that no matter where you go, the service is going to be the same.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Level Contributor
94 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

A little disappointing - this is a glorified motel not a hotel and our stay was definitely average. No aircon! We had to leave the foor open in order to air the room a little as it was very hot and stuffy, which did not give us much privacy at all. Also, it needs more lighting - rather dingy when the door was closed.
Bathroom OK but a little cramped and the lights threw out so much heat that you cooked in the shower.
Breakfast is not inspiring - we only had orange jiuce (which was cheap canned stuff) each morning.
However, the location cannot be faulted.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bearsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

When booking the Candle Light Inn think motel not hotel and then you won't be disappointed. The room was a double queen, large enough and clean. The bathroom was also clean, there was no bath but a very good shower. Breakfast was delivered to our room and was basic but pleasant enough. All in all for a one nighter it was OK . I would stay here again but only for one night.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndyReflect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Extremely clean and well appointed. Great customer service and friendly happy staff. They bring you a continental breakfast between 7:30-8:00 am right to your door (in a zippered bag). This is a really nice great away place to stay!

Room Tip: any room would be fine, just enjoy the short walk to Ocean Drive and the all the shops and places to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Educator49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California, United States
Level Contributor
97 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I always stay here when we're in Carmel. Our room is always large and comfortable and we love the modern elegant bathrooms. All our favorite restaurants and shops are just a short walk away. The beautiful flowers and charming outdoor fireplace with benches to enjoy the beautiful surroundings, only add to the relaxing atmosphere. Our most recent stay was in May for our 20th wedding anniversary. The staff made us feel so welcome and they all go out of their way to make your stay memorable. A full breakfast is delivered to your room every morning so we enjoyed "breakfast in bed" each day. We feel the Candle Light Inn is the best value in Carmel and definitely the best choice for a couple or family. We're looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,538 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 717 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 1,000 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Normandy Inn
Normandy Inn
#12 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candle Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candle Light Inn

Property: Candle Light Inn
Address: San Carlos Street, Between 4th and 5th Avenues, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candle Light Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This romantic Tudor-style inn located in the heart of Carmel offers charm and warmth with a friendly staff providing gracious and personalized service. Candle Light Inn features 20 large guest rooms and suites and a variety of amenities including continental breakfast, daily newspaper delivery, off-street parking, and in-room gourmet coffee service. All guests will also enjoy staying connected with free local phone calls and in-room wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Candle Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candle Light Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing