We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candle Light Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Candle Light Inn
Ranked #13 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

lots of room ( we had a sitting area, fireplace, and kitchen) and easy walking to the heart of town or any restaurant. Staff was friendly and attentive. On the plus side: off street parking, an outdoor fireplace, cookies in the afternoon, beautiful flowers outside, quiet, a cute little (cold) breakfast delivered to your door. Only down sides were no good lighting for reading in the sitting area and the breakfast is limited in options.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    111
    29
    17
    6
See reviews for
71
170
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We have stayed here before and were thrilled to find the rooms had been upgraded. The bathrooms are particularly elegant now with gorgeous shower cubicles. It has a lovely central location, and a great spot to stay if visiting Carmel. We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jessica35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I loved this hotel! It is in a great location, walking distance to all of Carmel-by-the-Sea. The room was very clean, updated, nice. The fireplace in the front of the hotel is awesome! Only complaint was that the people walking in the room above us was very loud. I would definately reccomend this hotel!

Room Tip: I was in room 3, very convenient, but would probably recommend a 2nd floor room due to the foot traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We loved staying at The Candle Light Inn! Front desk staff is friendly and helpful. The cozy room is clean and comfortable. Loved the little kitchen and the small fireplace which added to the cottage feel. Location was ideal to shopping and restaurants downtown Carmel. We will stay here the next time we visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathleen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

This was a perfect stay. The location is great for walking around town, leaving the car in the parking lot. Plenty of off street parking as well. The lobby has delicious cookies and coffee, they even supplied wine glasses at request. Every day you get a cooler packed with breakfast choices and the daily paper.

The rooms are well appointed including a fireplace. As other reviews stated, it's not sound proof however it isn't distracting or annoying. Put this his quint and welcoming hotel on your consideration list, you can't go wrong!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishhawk1650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Candlelight Inn is located about two and a half blocks from Ocean Avenue. We were greeted by T.J. a very accommodating young man. It was very quiet the day we arrived. When we entered room #4 we were pleasantly surprised by the large king- sized bed. It was very clean. The only negative we could find was that there was no shelving in the bathroom where we could place my make-up bag and toiletries. We did not reserve a room with a fireplace, but we did enjoy the outdoor fireplace. The evening was balmy as we sat outside, enjoyed our champagne and played Yahtzee and cards. I didn't even need a jacket. When we returned to the room T.J. brought us two robes. He made sure we had everything we needed. I thought that he was very thoughtful. The Inn's prices were quite reasonable considering a place to stay in Carmel can be very costly. Make sure when you make a reservation with the inn, that you ask for T.J.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gale A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Nice hotel, I just expected it to be a little bit more up to date. There was a kitchen, which was nice, but we really only needed the refrigerator. The bathroom just felt very old.
The breakfast delivered to your door was a nice touch. The firepit in the courtyard was fun to have a glass of wine next to, but it was turned off at 10pm. We understood because it was right next to some of the rooms.
We would stay here again because it was in a great location and was very clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty33997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,539 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 718 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Normandy Inn
Normandy Inn
#13 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candle Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candle Light Inn

Property: Candle Light Inn
Address: San Carlos Street, Between 4th and 5th Avenues, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candle Light Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This romantic Tudor-style inn located in the heart of Carmel offers charm and warmth with a friendly staff providing gracious and personalized service. Candle Light Inn features 20 large guest rooms and suites and a variety of amenities including continental breakfast, daily newspaper delivery, off-street parking, and in-room gourmet coffee service. All guests will also enjoy staying connected with free local phone calls and in-room wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Candle Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candle Light Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing