We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“very good deal and great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Briarwood Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Briarwood Inn
Ranked #21 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
La Selva Beach CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“very good deal and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

My husband and I took a quick 3 day trip to Carmel (luckily we live only 2 hours away!) and our timing was perfect. Best weather I have ever seen there and I have lived in and around the area 40 years! Even if it was the usual Carmel fog and cold we would have liked our room, and then we could have used the fireplace... In an area that rarely gets heat our room was quite 'warm' but it is on a quiet street so we could open up all the windows.
Very clean. Comfy bed. Only 2 outlets to recharge phones etc, time to upgrade. Clean efficient bathroom.
Breakfast starts WAY too late. 8:30?? I have been up 2+ hours by then. Never got to eat it, we went out. At LEAST put the coffee pot on at 6.
Room 44 has a sunset on ocean view thru the trees. Tiny but nice

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AWaileaWahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    62
    20
    13
    6
See reviews for
33
92
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed for several days. The rooms are clean and airy, beautifully decorated. Continental breakfasts were the best I've ever had. Exceptionally quaint! Walking distance to all the shops and restaurants. Dog friendly, but no tell-tale odors. The yard and flowers were nice. I was very happy and content with our stay. Thank you so much for all of your personal attention.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Our room was spacious and CLEAN! The staff was friendly and we enjoyed our morning breakfast of tasty pastries and fresh, sweet fruit. We were a short, pleasant walk from charming downtown Carmel, fine dining and art galleries galore and a brisk walk from the beautiful beach.
And the weather was perfect!
We plan to stay at the Briarwood Inn again.

Room Tip: Room 41 was bright and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

I stay in the Monterey Carmel area often. I am always looking for a good deal. I found it Briarwood Inn is a great deal and the best place to stay. Price is right for Carmel. Staff very helpful. The new manager is a very nice guy. I stayed in the Mission 5 unite very nice. Once I checked In I can walk all around everything is very close. One last thing this place is very clean.

Room Tip: Ask about the Mission unites
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funtimetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

I had a Living Social voucher which I had made a reservation with and I had to cancel at the last minute. These guys really bent over backward to help me out with customer service. Although they didn't have to, they honored another reservation for the next month. The room was very spacious, clean and the bed was great for my back ( I have had surgery to remove a disc). I didn't take advantage of the breakfast, but all in all I was very happy with the experience - as everyone else has said also great location.

Room Tip: We were downstairs and could hear footsteps but for me it wasn't bothersome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snookie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in #42 for 2 nights. This room has a queen bed plus a single bed, a fireplace and a little sitting area. Even though this room allows pets and we don't have any, the room was very clean and no smell of pets. The shower had plenty of hot water. You get one parking space for this unit. Although the parking was small, it's very convenient. We parked our car when we arrived and didn't move it until we checked out. The inn is 2 1/2 blocks north of Ocean Ave. So it's far enough from the crowd and noise, but close enough that you can walk everywhere in 5-10 minutes. We spent entire day looking through galleries and shops, went back around 4 to take a resting break, then head out again at 6 to the beach to see the sunset. After that, we still had less than an hour before our dinner reservation at 8:30, so we went back again for another break.

The down side is the soundproof was mediocre. We have a downstairs unit. We can hear footsteps of upstairs guests. You can also hear people talking through the walls. All the guests there during our stay were very good, so no big deal there. By 10-11pm, things were quiet. But if you were a light sleeper like me, you may get awaken to footstep noises in the morning.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lasergod88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

been awhile since we were in carmel and the last time was at this great B&B same room as this time we brought our dog. carmel is a great town for dog's as a lot of stores and restaurants allow the dogs in the patios. the beach is beautiful white sand and off leash dog beach. the breakfast is included with your room the staff if very helpful and knowable of the town.

Room Tip: look on their web site
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judydebeaubien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.0 mi away
Carmel Fireplace Inn
Carmel Fireplace Inn
#20 of 26 in Carmel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carmel Green Lantern Inn
0.1 mi away
Carmel Country Inn
Carmel Country Inn
#3 of 26 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carmel Garden Inn
Carmel Garden Inn
#5 of 26 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Normandy Inn
Normandy Inn
#13 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Svendsgaard's Inn
Svendsgaard's Inn
#9 of 26 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briarwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarwood Inn

Property: Briarwood Inn
Address: San Carlos Street, Between Fourth and Fifth avenues, P.O. Box 5245, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Briarwood Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Briarwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarwood Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing