We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay at Briarwood”
Review of Briarwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Briarwood Inn
Ranked #20 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay at Briarwood”
Reviewed June 22, 2008

My wife and I, along with our adult daughter, spent four night at the Briarwood Inn in June. We rented the Cambridge unit, a two-bedroom, one-bath cottage on Mission Street. While the furnishings were not new, it was clean and comfortable. Located two blocks off of Ocean Avenue, the Briarwood is close to many restaurants, galleries and shops. The Inn provides a complimentary continental breakfast of fresh fruits and juices, bagels and muffins.
My wife and I have visited Carmel many times but this was our first stay at the Briarwood - it will not be our last.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    64
    20
    13
    6
See reviews for
35
95
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2008

My mom and I stayed at the Briarwood Inn from April 19th to the 21st. I booked this Inn because it seemed convenient to the shops and looked really cute from the pictures on the website. We stayed in the Windsor room, which had two queen beds. The beds very comfortable and I thought the room was cozy, yet very roomy..if that makes sense. There was a nice gas fireplace that we used frequently and a brand new, flat screen tv that was very nice. The room was so clean, in fact it looked like it had been freshly painted. Also, the room was very quiet. The only time we heard anything was when some people came home upstairs from us, and it didn't bother us at all. The Briarwood Inn provides a very nice breakfast in the morning, which we both enjoyed very much. Lots of fresh fruit, pastries, muffins, and bagels. You have the option of eating in the cute little dining area, or bringing a tray back to your room. They provide coffee all day and port and sherry in the evening. We didn't have that though. The Briarwood was a great location and we walked everywhere. The first night we got there the woman at the front desk asked if we had dinner reservations and we said no. She had someone cancel some for the Flying Fish earlier and kept them in case someone else wanted them. We took them and had a great dinner there! The next night we ate at Little Napoli, which was also very nice!
So, I would definitely stay at the Briarwood again! The only thing that was a little off was the shower pressure and cold/hot knob was hard to adjust, but that is so minor. My mom and I both had a fun, relaxing weekend and are looking forward to going back soon!

  • Liked — Convenient, comfortable, cute!
  • Disliked — liked it all!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank rncathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2008

We stayed in the two bedroom, two bath unit on the second floor. The location of the inn to downtown Carmel is great, but the rooms are dated. The throw rug was so beat up as you entered the room, I threw it in the closet so I wouldn't have to look at it. The kitchen and baths looked like they had been updated. However, the bedspread was faded, the carpet and chairs in the living room and dining room had spots. This place definately needs some attention.
The best part was the staff. They were very helpful with dinner reservations, etc. Great job, ladies.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank tennismom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2008

Stayed for 2 nights on the midweek special, 2 nights for the price of one. It was out first time in Carmel. I guess everything is expensive and would not have been happy if we paid full price. The room was roomy and clean but was somewhat dated and had a musty smell. Breakfast was nice made up of fresh fruit, orange juice and coffe with some baked goods. It was my wife's favorite breakfast of the trip. The location is right in Carmel by the Sea with plenty of shops and restaurants in walking distance. The beach at the Sea is about a 20 minute walk. The others staying here were all 60+. Note that everything in Carmel seems to be expensive by my standards. Dinners for $80/couple for average food and 1 glass of wine would probably be on the cheap side.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank mjm964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2007

We had a very nice stay at the Briarwood. 2 nice sized bedrooms for us and our 2 daughters, plus a large living room and kitchen. The breakfast, included, is nicely presented with fresh stuff. Good location for being in Carmel--just a bit of a hike to the beach, but close to the main drag.

  • Liked — Lots of space for the 4 of us
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank joeinva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2007

We stayed in 2 rooms, Greenwich and Chelsea which we liked a lot. The service was great, it was quiet and other guests were nice too. We took both breakfast and drinks to our room and that was also hassle-free. The convenience to everything was one of the reasons we stayed at this location. Upon check-out we were told they did not allow dogs under 1 years of age. 2 different clerks (not Carol) saw our dogs and seemed to have no problem with them (nor did they ask their age which is 5 months). I double-checked their website, and NONE of their various dog rules are posted, nor were they explicit when I directly called them, only asking the breed type (border collie). It was only after I submitted the reservation along with my credit card that a disclaimer was apparent on the print-out (which they e-mailed it to me), and even then there was no mention of age. Additionally, though the hard copy states "the only pets accepted are dogs under 25 lbs," only our dogs would have qualified as other guests had dogs at least twice that size....maybe there is flexibility in that rule... All in all I would stay there again minus the dogs.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — surly front desk clerk
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wiinnie4Minnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Palisades. Ca
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2006

My husband and I stay at the Briarwood every April for a week. When we arrived Carol the innkeeper had put a birthday card in our room for my husband. She booked us most nights at many fabulous restaurants like L'Auberge for food tasting with wine paring. The Flying Fish, Bouche and 2 great italians Giovanni's and another Nico's.In the mornings if she wasn't there she made sure the desk clerks set up a food tray for us for our room since we sleep in.
The inn has fruit, muffins and pastries with coffee and juices every moring.Each room has a mini kitchen sitting area and fireplace or stovetype heating. The Briarwood is in a great location in just 2 blocks from Ocean. You can purchase wine and Cheese at the Cheese store or market and take them to your room. The inn does supply full kitchen setup including wine glasses. Carol booked a masseuse to our room for my husband several times. Over the last couple of years the inn started allowing people to bring pets which is very unfortunate for us. My husband and I were allergic to the dander and took antihistamines the entire time. We also had to request the bed spread be removed because of some type of sickly looking spot. It would be much better if the rooms were not soiled up by the pets. We only had a noise problem one time in the last 5 or 6 years we've been staying there. It is very quiet. The property is well kept and the clerks that work the desk are nice. The housekeepers have been there many years and are very accomodating and try really hard to make sure you have what you need. All said, Carol is the major reason we continue to always return.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DReese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
1,640 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
578 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
637 reviews
0.3 mi away
Normandy Inn
Normandy Inn
#13 of 25 in Carmel
546 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carmel Country Inn
Carmel Country Inn
#2 of 26 in Carmel
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briarwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarwood Inn

Property: Briarwood Inn
Address: San Carlos Street, Between Fourth and Fifth avenues, P.O. Box 5245, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Briarwood Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Briarwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarwood Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing