We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Totally enjoyed my weekend stay at Briarwood Inn in Carmel, ca.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Briarwood Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Briarwood Inn
Ranked #21 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Totally enjoyed my weekend stay at Briarwood Inn in Carmel, ca.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

The rooms were very quaint and clean. I was impressed with the staff. They were nice and helpful, especially Carol who was able to recommend great restaurants and local attractions. I definitely plan to return.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kass8488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    62
    20
    13
    6
See reviews for
33
92
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Although we had planned to bring our dog, but did not at the last minute, we were still placed in a "pet friendly" room. Not bad at all actually - a second floor, darling studio-like with kitchen, large bathroom and a separate bedroom area. We thought we'd surely consider staying there again until we had our 'continental breakfast'. Sliced apples and cold muffins....? Give me strength. We ended up having a warm and delicious breakfast down the street.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolynn1545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Briarwood; lovely room and cozy lobby and manicured grounds! Carol the front desk manager was exceptional. She got us a reservation at Giavonni restaurant which we walked to (2 blocks). Carol also helped us find places, whale watching trip etc. and was so accommodating! We will go back for sure! Lovely place, nice and courteous staff.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back and upstairs have lovely vistas and are less noisy from street. Not a busy street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank constance316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

This B&B is like a dream. The location right in the middle of Carmel is perfect, you don't need a car to go for a dinner or go to the beach. The room was lovely and really clean. Thanks for the great service of a really nice team. We will stay there again and I hope in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swmuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I had very nice experience staying a cute cottage. The room was very cozy, quiet and clean. There were kitchen, full size refrigerator, separate bedroom with King size bed and two twin beds. The staff were friendly and helpful. Location was great. I never experience a cottage in Carmel by the sea and it was much better than hotel room. I wish we could stay longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny1815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

This B&B is well located in the center of Carmel and has on-site parking. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable, but the room was quite cramped. Be sure to inquire about the size of the room when booking. The breakfast was cold - muffins, cereal, fruit, and coffee/tea.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zrdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

This B&B was very walkable to dining and shops in Carmel. Its a quaint and laid back area. The room was very spacious! The fireplace is soothing and creates a relaxing atmosphere. St. Anne has a jacuzzi tub that is the best we've experienced! There is a strange nook where the closet and fridge are, but oh well. All in all, a very delightful time at Briarwood.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbsingleterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.0 mi away
Carmel Fireplace Inn
Carmel Fireplace Inn
#20 of 26 in Carmel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carmel Green Lantern Inn
0.1 mi away
Carmel Country Inn
Carmel Country Inn
#3 of 26 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carmel Garden Inn
Carmel Garden Inn
#5 of 26 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Normandy Inn
Normandy Inn
#13 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Svendsgaard's Inn
Svendsgaard's Inn
#8 of 26 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briarwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarwood Inn

Property: Briarwood Inn
Address: San Carlos Street, Between Fourth and Fifth avenues, P.O. Box 5245, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Briarwood Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Briarwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarwood Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing