We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Relax & cozy - good experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Briarwood Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Briarwood Inn
Ranked #21 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relax & cozy - good experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I had very nice experience staying a cute cottage. The room was very cozy, quiet and clean. There were kitchen, full size refrigerator, separate bedroom with King size bed and two twin beds. The staff were friendly and helpful. Location was great. I never experience a cottage in Carmel by the sea and it was much better than hotel room. I wish we could stay longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny1815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    59
    20
    12
    6
See reviews for
31
89
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This B&B is well located in the center of Carmel and has on-site parking. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable, but the room was quite cramped. Be sure to inquire about the size of the room when booking. The breakfast was cold - muffins, cereal, fruit, and coffee/tea.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zrdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This B&B was very walkable to dining and shops in Carmel. Its a quaint and laid back area. The room was very spacious! The fireplace is soothing and creates a relaxing atmosphere. St. Anne has a jacuzzi tub that is the best we've experienced! There is a strange nook where the closet and fridge are, but oh well. All in all, a very delightful time at Briarwood.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbsingleterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Quite nearly everything about the Briarwood -- from its location to the most wonderful and friendly staff -- is a winner. We stayed in the Chelsea; it was like having our own little cottage with a kitchenette. Our dog, who travels with us always, was warmly welcomed, and the staff could not have been sweeter and more helpful. Tastefully decorated and very clean. Such a lovely property and a wonderful experience. Wonderful location. The plumbing is in need of an update, but really the only drawback.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bardbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALIFORNIA
Level Contributor
419 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We used a Living Social voucher for 2 nights in a King room with fireplace. The room was very large with a very comfortable bed. It was clean and the private, covered parking space was nice. The $185 price included a bottle of decent wine and chocolates. Breakfast included orange juice, coffee, tea and assorted pastries, bagles and cream cheese. Our only suggestion is to add some protein to the breakfast (egg, cheese, yogurt, etc.). The manager was very helpful. The location in Carmel was perfect ... very quiet and peaceful but close to dining and shops. The weather was absolutely perfect (sunny and warm) for our stay which is very rare in January.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LUCKYME72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Wow what a find! The Briarwood was a last minute choice.What a great choice it was. They have a new manager who is doing a great job. The room was so nice I wanted to stay forever but had to get back to LA. The Room was so clean I felt bad even walking on the carpet. There was even music playing when I got to the room.I really want to go back and its only been a week.

Room Tip: Go see the Christmas lights on Ocean ave around Christmas time
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funtimetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The location is very good. Can walk to everything. Our room was large and comfortable and the king bed great for sleeping. We had room 43 which seems to be a former motel with another name. It is showing wear and the carpet needed cleaning. I like fresh air in the room but you could not open the windows. All had shutters that were blocked with furniture. We had a nice stay but I thought it is kind of high priced for what it is.

Room Tip: Maybe rooms in another building are better than ours was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 527 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carmel Fireplace Inn
Carmel Fireplace Inn
#18 of 26 in Carmel
3.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sea View Inn
Sea View Inn
#8 of 26 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Colonial Terrace
The Colonial Terrace
#5 of 26 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 622 reviews
0.3 mi away
Normandy Inn
Normandy Inn
#13 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briarwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarwood Inn

Property: Briarwood Inn
Address: San Carlos Street, Between Fourth and Fifth avenues, P.O. Box 5245, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Briarwood Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Briarwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarwood Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing