We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely”
Review of Briarwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Briarwood Inn
Ranked #20 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

lovely little inn set in the center of carmel, great value in a very expensive area. the rooms are old fashioned and very comfortable. the girl on the front desk was very helpful and got us a table in a nice mexican restuarant just a block away we only stayed the 1 night before leaving to vist friends in san diego. also breakfast was included which was very good. angus and yvonne.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mac8156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    66
    21
    13
    6
See reviews for
38
97
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We went February 17-19th and this was our first time. We stayed in the penthouse suite and love every moment of it. This was a family trip and the penthouse suite did it's job.....from utensils, plates, cups, to all kinds of cooking wares. It felt like home! This suite was very cozy with a fireplace and best part of it was that it was isolated from the other room. We're young adults and totally love this place. It was close to everything and very easy to find. Would definately recommend this place and totally stay again.

althought this B&B doesn't have heater it gets very warm at night, so there would be no need for a heater. From what I heard, most if not all B&B don't have heaters.

Hope this helps you pick a nice and cozy place. :) Love this place!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stasteek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Nice room, very friendly staff, decent breakfast and old school videos to check out. Great location walking distance to restaurants and shops. We'd come again!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzmcdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Just back from nice 2 night stay in Carmel. Nice older property. Stayed in Dickens room, #49. Room was large with mini kitchen, good bathroom. Good mattress(king bed) but really high off floor. Gas fire place, large flatscreen tv. Even had bottle of local wine in room but that may have been part of livingsocial 1/2 price deal we got. Big storms 1st night and we survived heavy winds and rain with no problems. Light breakfast in office had very cramped space with small tables. Could have taken back to room. Very nice place just a couple of blocks from heart of downtown section.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Stayed in #48 upstairs. Very clean w/ gas fireplace & jacuzzi in the middle of the room. Friendly inn keeper. They do have larger rooms w/ separate sitting area and bedroom. Covered parking space on property. Did not have the breakfast, but looked nice in the lobby. Rate of $150.00. Perfect for walking in town.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbe570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2012

The Briarwood Inn is a lovely Carmel Inn that had friendly people, warm and cozy rooms. The Inn is located right in the heart of Carmel within easy walking distance to all the shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkirkco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

No parking for guests. Pushed out of the office and told they had no time to check us in. We want our money back! We left a day early and expect to be reimbursed for the day we did not stay at this dump. Sleep in your car. You'll be better off.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rzlient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
593 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
1.5 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
873 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
0.3 mi away
Normandy Inn
Normandy Inn
#14 of 25 in Carmel
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briarwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarwood Inn

Property: Briarwood Inn
Address: San Carlos Street, Between Fourth and Fifth avenues, P.O. Box 5245, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Briarwood Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Briarwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarwood Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing