We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fair value”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Carmel Resort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carmel Resort Inn
Ranked #24 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fair value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

The rooms are small but comfortable and clean. There is no airconditioner however we didn’t need cooling at the time we stayed and had a good sleep - may not be the case in summer. The breakfast is fairly poor. It is a long walk to shops or the beach, but the price is low and reflects the location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RStuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    58
    52
    23
    29
See reviews for
32
97
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

This resort was $195 per night, which I realize by Carmel standards is a bargain. The positive things were the cottages were cozy and the breakfast delivered to your door was great. The negatives were the smell in the cottage--a cross between cigarettes and that "old" smell, no screens on the windows, and thus, bugs flying in. The walls had been freshly painted but the carpet was icky--did not want to walk on it. The bathroom was functional but really, really old. If I had it to do all over again, I would stay two nights in Monterey and not Carmel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jelis55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carmel hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Pros:
Very comfy bed with lovely cosy sheets and blankets. Clean sheets and towels. Low price compared to other similar places. Own parking space. Cute individual 'cottages'. Nice breakfast hamper delivered to the door (muffin, pastry, 2x yoghurts, fruit, 2x juice cartons). Short drive to Carmel (very sweet, quaint village\town, nice beach and shops)

Cons:
Very out dated decor but who cares!

Overall:
Had no major issues! Perfect if you just want a cheap, clean, cosy place to stop overnight.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Theodore F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Grove, Ny
Level Contributor
148 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We weren't expecting much based on the fact that we paid $100 for the one night we were in Carmel. The cottages are roomy enough but they need to get a better decorator. The bedding and chair fabric was from out of the 60's. We were traveling with another couple and we both had the same deal ($100) a night. However, their cottage had a refrigerator, ours did not. They had a hair dryer, ours did not. Morning complimentary breakfast basket was delivered to our door at 8am sharp. While the items in the basket were not our liking, they did make a nice attempt. In the basket was 2 sip juice boxes and 2 yoplay yogurts along with 2 pieces of fruit, a blueberry muffin and a sticky danish. I'm sure everything was purchase in Costco. Nothing against Costco, we love that place, but how much sugar can one consume at once. It would be much wiser to have a continental breakfast set up in the office area, and there is plenty of room for that, if just to come and pick up what you want. We did take the fruit to eat later in the day, but I hope they didn't just put the muffin and danish back and give it out tomorrow. Who knows what people could do. Anyway, the attempt was very nice. I'm sure at one point this place was very lovely, but it has outlived it's time and is in need of an update. Once they invest in a designer, spruced up the landscape, set up the continental breakfast by the office, this place could certainly get more $$$ per night. If you are not fussy and just need a place to rest your head for the night at a really good price this is the place. It was clean !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Aside from the fact that I was utterly disarmed by the charming seaside town of Carmel, I enjoyed my one night stop at the Carmel Resort Inn. With it's little fireplace and complementary breakfast basket, it was a great price and quite comfortable. The staff were friendly also.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelady74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
1,005 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

OK, it needs some updating. If you want marble in the bathroom, forget this place. There are several cabins over a whole city block just NW of the downtown area. We booked two for a family visit on a recent busy weekend. Our room was large, the bed was comfortable and cozy (there isn't good insulation, but our fireplace worked and was very effective), and we could leave our car there and walk down to the restaurants and shops (no sidewalks; be careful). For the price I think it was a decent value in this expensive town. Nice outdoor seating area. Quiet and peaceful.
We were not crazy about the breakfast. Delivered to the door, but pedestrian juice and wrapped baked goods.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soulefulltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
173 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

I made a booking and the only room available was the more expensive King room. When I arrived at the room and saw that I was not in a "king" room I complained at the front desk and was told that I was wrong that that be bed in my room was a King bed. I had many problems during my stay and never did the staff try to be helpful to solve the issues. I would definitely not recommend this place nor stay there again.

Room Tip: If you can check the rooms before.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.7 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.1 mi away
Vendange Carmel Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Carmel Green Lantern Inn
0.4 mi away
Svendsgaard's Inn
Svendsgaard's Inn
#11 of 26 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Resort Inn

Property: Carmel Resort Inn
Address: Carpenter Avenue between First & Second, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Carmel Resort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmel Resort Inn is a unique and truly affordable B&B offering a collection of old fashioned "artists" cottages once belonging to individual land owners. Some as old as 100 years, each of these hand crafted cottages have different floor plans and early 1900's construction. It's all part of the original Carmel charm that makes CRI and the village of Carmel-by-the-Sea a charming and yet popular place for visitors from around the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carmel Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing