We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very fun to dine on the rooftop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vesuvio

Vesuvio
Ranked #15 of 156 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very fun to dine on the rooftop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Although we only had the bar food, which included a fabulous mushroom pizza, we thought this was a great evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Loretta360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    118
    40
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice Italian place in California”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

The hostess were almost rude at the beginning but we managed to get a nice table and didn't regret it for a second. The first course (mozzarella bar and di Stefano salad were ok but not too special - the latter one had too much vinegar in it) but the second one (fish and pasta) were absolutely delicious. Nice napa wines and limoncello on the house made the evening really special. The service was not always too nice but very efficient and we appreciated it. Definitely stop by if you miss Italian food on your American road trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Oles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Truly enjoyable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Vesuvio, a sister to long time Carmel restaurant Little Napoli (located a handful of blocks away) is attractive and tasteful. It's a bustling, fun place, presumably owing to very good food and attentive/pleasant service. For some reason, we couldn't get crazy about the garlic bread – probably just a matter of our personal tastes, since it was seemingly described on the menu as a house specialty – but everything else was delicious. Overall, a really good experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2NationalParksFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
120 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great dinner and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Carmel and spent our first night at the rooftop bar at Vesuvio. The food and service were both great. Mckinna was great and her recomendations were spot on. This is our second time in Carmel but our first at Vesuvio- we will be back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank M-LOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
221 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Carmel hot spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Friends and family gathered on the roof top for happy hour on a warm night. Great wine, tacos, good service and comfy patio seating will bring us back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vesuvio also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing