We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and fun!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vesuvio

Vesuvio
Ranked #15 of 155 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food and fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Loved the roof top bar! Great area with heat lamps, comfy seating, bar and food service. One menu item was genius, "Adult Happy Meal" with a burger, fries and a well drink! If we weren't having dinner downstairs, I would have ordered that.

Dinner was good. Although I initially thought the prices were a bit high, I think it was a good value. Ample sized portions of the main fish or meat and the vegetable accompaniments were very good.

Worth a visit!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cabowoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    145
    47
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia Washington
Level Contributor
138 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent food, nice surprise !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Sat in the bar because we were tired from travel and didn't think we were hungry. Smelled and saw the food an ordered the grilled artichokes, caprice with the buffala mozzarella, shrimp Caesar and baby back ribs. Everything was excellent, nicely presented and generous portions. Eat here, you won't be sorry.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mcmc1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
240 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Ate in bar... Not restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Everything was ok!
Drinks were expensive.
Food was ok .
Bartender was not over attentive.
Again just ok

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brinbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
127 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice rooftop bar. Food was good - interesting options”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

If you ever wanted to try black ink pasta, this is the place. Food was good. Service was good. Rooftop bar (heated) is a nice plus.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great wait staff and bartenders, patrons a little wild”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This place seems to have the "wild child" crowd of Carmel cornered with their bar on the roof.

Good prices, excellent choices and a super wait staff. We visited twice and loved their bruschetta the first time. It was simply outstanding. The second time was "meh!" and we were surprised at the difference. We ordered a pizza on the second visit and have to admit that it was very much a genuine Italian pizza. But neither of us enjoy pizzas when we're in Italy. So if you love the original stuff, you'll love the pizzas here.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Guilden_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vesuvio also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing