We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised!”
Review of Bahama Island Steakhouse - CLOSED

Bahama Island Steakhouse
Price range: $8 - $34
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Carmel Valley Rd.
Elk Grove, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Surprised!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Ok, we were surprised by the name, the food and the prices. We expected a steakhouse and it wasn't quite. We expected an expensive meal and it wasn't. One thing you have to order is the Calypso Garlic Bread, it's VERY, VERY good! Hawaiian “Style” Pulled Pork Rice Bowl: the pork tender and moist. The kids order Teriyaki Skirt Steak Rice Bowls: the flavor was good, but the meat was a little tough, especially on my daughter who has braces. Chipotle Chicken Pasta was excellent. There was just enough "heat" in the aftertaste to make it a great dish. Especially for those who can't handle "hot and spicy" dishes. The sauce was just wonderful! Would definitely visit this restaurant again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LLKian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    7
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fallbrook
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not exactly overwhelmed”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

This restaurant location has gone though many hands over the years and the current one was disappointing. Other than great service the food was mediocre at best,

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank godzillabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Coconut shrimp”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Great coconut shrimp and very decent blackened shrimp on my Caesar salad, teh dressing could have been a bit lighter. Wonderful friendly service. The drawback is that the interior is sadly in need of an update, and the dated decor is dark and uninviting.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank isabelladelmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
429 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Open after 8 PM”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

So While Carmel is one of the nations neatest places to visit, it does have one problem. Very few places to dine are open after 8PM. Not all of us are looking for the four o'clock specials. So on my last visit ( business) I found myself in need of a place to dine after 8. Walking around the Barnyard area I found Bahama Islands. Greeted by the owner/ manager as I entered. New this was going to be a friendly dinner. A few other couples in the place, and two others at the bar. In that I was by myself, chose the bar. Picked a nice Chard, to find they were sold out, the bartender Immediately upgraded me to the next level at the same price. Now since it was a bit late, decided to dine on a couple of appetizers, rather than a full meal. Choose two different seafood dishes. Absolutely the best. So a a very good wine list to choose from, a very extensive menu, and open after 8. I will be back to this place on my next trip.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mitch w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We had a family of 4 eating dinner at the Bahama Island. Three of us had "rice bowls" and the other had a kebob. All 4 were very good. the price was reasonable. The service was excellent. The atmosphere was also very nice. Carmel can be a VERY expensive place. This place offers a reasonable alternaive. We all agreed that we would return.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank OpusTheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bahama Island Steakhouse also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing