We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Clams please!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Harvest Fish Market and Restaurant

Sea Harvest Fish Market and Restaurant
Ranked #40 of 153 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Soups, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“More Clams please!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We ate here over July 4th weekend for lunch before shopping on Ocean Avenue. We wanted to stay within budget for lunch and the locals eat here, so we decided to try it. We had the house green salad and the clam chowder. We enjoyed the warm bread and butter. Yummy sourdough. The green salad was delicious with a mixture of lettuces (not just iceberg) and had a tomato wedge a few slices of cucumber with shredded carrots. I had ranch dressing on the side. The chowder broth was excellent and had a good texture with the potato and not too salty. But the clams were minced so small that you could barely see them. The chowder needed bigger chunks of clams and it would've have been a really good clam chowder. My friend also had the clam chowder and agreed, more clams would have been better. They have a fresh fish counter that was in the restaurant and didn't smell bad "fishy." Overall, it was a nice ambience and I would come back to try the other items on the menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vacationrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    60
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good but overpriced and hyped”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Thought I would try a different seafood joint - should've stuck with Vivolos. Their chowdah' and seafood portions are tastier and more plentiful. For the same cost, got twice as much at Vivolo's and it tasted better. For example, got two king prawns at SH vs five at V (same size). The tempura style breading is tastier at Vivolo's than SH. Only plus for SH is that it has wider selection of items to be cooked.to order vs Vivolos.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CulturedBacillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Well prepared”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Halibut and Swordfish was cooked perfectly and the service was very good. A Halibut dinner and Swordfish dinner plus drinks at $50 for the table is unheard of in this part of California and they certainly deserve their good reputation with locals. It is however a fish market first, restaurant second. So if the odor of abundant fish bothers you...choose and outdoor table. Nothing fancy here...just good fish!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank erie.mon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hunter
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Harder and Harder to Find Fresh Seafood...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

These days at reasonable prices even near the coast. So, if you want some at reasonable prices, this is where to go. This is an unpretentious place in a glorified strip mall - everything is glorified in Carmel. The resturant is an add-on to the fish market counter space......even the restrooms are outside the building. While we ate in an otherwise uncrowded seating area, locals came and went ordering fish by the pound from the fishmonger to take home. Like I said, west coast wild salmon and halibut and other more exotic fish species are becoming a rarity even on menus offered in expensive restaurants, so it's becoming a special treat to find a resturant that specializes in it. May the fleet's catch continue to be fruitful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank amgHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy but we had the best fish here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We went here late on Mother's Day and even though the wait staff were very busy our lunch of fresh black cod was superb. The steamed artichoke was very good and so was their salad and baked potato. They split the dish (14.95) in half for us and we each had a full plate. I love this restaurant. Because it took awhile to get service I got a free huge piece of chocolate cake. We went back for the same lunch the next day and again, got another piece of cake, free of charge!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pamedavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Harvest Fish Market and Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Sea Harvest Fish Market and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing