We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“wonderfull” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond's House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vagabond's House Inn
Ranked #6 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Caxias Do Sul, RS
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“wonderfull”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

My wife and I were doing a leisure travel from San Francisco to L.A. in highway one ( one of the beautiests roads in allover the world). So we stopped in Carmel and had a great stay in this romantic charming hotel. In arriving we we got a cheese and wine welcome by the very kind Tom, the breakfest was delivered in our room....This small sympathetic things made our trip very romantic. So a strongly recomend this hotel to everyone who goes to Carmel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gut0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    77
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
52
271
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollister, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

Located in the woods of Carmel just footsteps from downtown. Oak shaded patio with waterfall, you were lulled to sleep by the calming sound of the moving water. Close enough to the ocean as to hear the crashing surf. Solid Brick with hardwood floors kept the room feeling like home. Big fluffy super comfortable bed with fireplace to give it just the right amout of romance, well as much as you can have with a five year old in the same room. She had her own bed too. We felt very welcomed by the friendly and helpful staff

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeftyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamitos, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

Thank you so much for your beautiful garden setting and charming rooms. Your staff was very friendly and helpful. I am so greatful for the magical memmories you've given me. I was there for the Big Sur Marathon and you're staff took that extra time to make sure I knew exactly how to get everywhere that I needed to be. THANK YOU!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinski1o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

We stayed here with my dogs, wife and mother-in-law for my 60th birthday. We had a wonderful dinner at Casanova's a short walk away. The rooms were comfortable, the breakfast was delicious and the gardens were beautiful. Everything was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hmbterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at Vagabond's House Inn for a weekend get away and it was simply lovely! Our trip did not start out well with our car breaking down on highway 1 an hour south of Carmel! We were not going to make it to the Inn before they closed so I called and Jack, at the front desk, could not have been more helpful! He left our room key, directions as well as a breakfast menu and his personal cell phone # in case we needed anything. What a delight to finally arrive after such a stressful beginning to find our room an absolute haven. The room was lovely and peaceful, a fire was laid ready for a match, a bottle of complimentary sherry (wonderful!) was on the table and a very comfortable king bed, went to sleep listening to the gentle sounds of the fire. In the morning we called down for our breakfast and just 10 mins. it arrived. A tray filled with hot coffee, tea, fresh pastries (delicious!), fruit, cereal, eggs-enough to hold one for the enitre day. (plus the room came with a kitchen in case you wanted to stay in but the restaurants in Carmel are too amazing like Christopher's and Porto Bello) The bathroom had just been remodeled and I have to say it has one of the BEST showers I have ever taken! Lots of terrific bath products are supplied as well as a hair dryer plus comfy robes. All said, Vagabond's House Inn is a real treat! It is situated just a couple of blocks from main st. so it is peaceful and quiet but in a few minutes walk you are in the middle of town with access to everything, shops, restaurants, galleries and the beach! (also good for us since we didn't have a car!) It is clean and it's a wonderful location with a beautiful courtyard with big trees and fairy lights making it a magical place, I highly recommend it! (PS: our dog was with us and they were so welcoming to her! The Inn supplies you with a big, plush 'dog' blanket and all of Carmel is incredibly dog friendly-bowls of water & treats are everywhere and there ar many restaurants that even allow your pet to come in-Cypress Inn and Porto Bello for example!) We are looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adventurtravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for three nights on the recommendation of good friends. We enjoyed the walking distance to downtown Carmel-By-The-Sea and the super clean atmosphere. It was a little pricey but with a 3rd night discount was a fun time. The staff bent over backwards to accommodate us and offered great dinner recommendations and driving ideas as well. Each room is different and even with a street overlook our room was always quiet and cozy.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Friz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

This was our 3rd trip to Carmel having stayed in other inns on previous occaisions .Vagabonds is in a quiet location yet a few minutes walk to shops and restuarants .Our room was an absolute delight to return to ,being large ,bright ,cheerful and cozy .The bed was perfect and the gas open fire added to the charm .The breakfasts were faboulous and the staff very friendly and helpful and special thanks to Barbara who with her help and recommendations made our stay more delightful .We will definately rebook here and recommend to anyone .

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 699 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 956 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.3 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carmel Country Inn
Carmel Country Inn
#3 of 26 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond's House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond's House Inn

Property: Vagabond's House Inn
Address: Dolores St & 4th Ave, P.O. Box 2747, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vagabond's House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming English Tudor-style Bed & Breakfast Inn situated in the heart of Carmel Village, 8 blocks from beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Vagabond's House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond`s House Hotel Carmel
Vagabonds Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing