We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my lady was very happy and very pleased, I got the "you done good" comment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vagabond's House Inn
Ranked #10 of 25 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2010

I booked a room at Vagabond's House Inn in Carmel on Valentine's weekend, this was also the weekend of the AT&T Pro / Am golf tourney at Pebble Beach, for me and my lady. I was excited to get a place in Carmel on such short notice, I got lucky with a room, and to my surprise, this place was phenominal ! ! ! The hosts were very gracious and helpful. I took the extra step and had Romantic Room Designs set up the room so when we entered there were rose petals, candles (LED's), streamers, ribbons, chocolate kisses, red ballons and a red boa though out the room. My lady was very happy and very pleased, I got the "you done good" comment and a little teary eyes from her as she wrapped her arms around me to hug me - a big thank you to me ! ! I can't take all the credit, Nancy was great as a host to find us a room last minute, and Brian's team at Romantic Room Designs did a fantastic job in going the extra mile to make it extra special . . . now she wants to go back for a longer weekend stay, definately recommend Vagabond's House Inn to other couples and if it's a special reason for your trip, try Romantic Room Designs to add that extra something!

Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank discgolferatlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

378 - 384 of 449 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2010

We have stayed at the Vagabond's House Inn three times since going there for our honeymoon in 2002. We always request the same room, #4, and they are always accomodating. This room is the best because you can park on the street and it is right next to the stairs going up, so it feels almost like our own personal entrance. The best part about this inn is the breakfast- it may look like a typical danish and cereal breakfast when you look at the menu, but if you order the fresh fruit, it is always stuff that is in season and Very Fresh! We absolutely loved the strawberries with homemade cream that we got in June!! I also like that you can submit a different request each day and all you have to do is call in the morning when you're ready to eat and they bring it right to your room!
The only con I have to say is that while our room comes with a kitchen and refridgerator, the fridge is tiny and the kitchen is not very well-equipped for making your own meals, like we like to do; they have the bare bones of cookware. Other than that, there is nowhere else we'd rather go when we want a relaxing getaway. While this bed and breakfast is pricy, it is worth every penny!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starb37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

It was by chance that we discovered this venue after a wonderful sunset on Carmel beach. It was the perfect romantic conclusion for a perfect day. The staff is excellent and the Hotel is at a walking distance from restaurants and shops. I do recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giobatta62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2009

Another anniversary in beautiful Carmel. We have stayed in different places but I always go back to the Vagabond. Five times to be exact. They are so friendly, accommodating and the beds are so comfy cozy. You get breakfast in bed that is perfect, wine and cheese in the afternoon and the best of all walking distance to Ocean Street where there are great art galleries, restaurants and shops. It's peaceful, lovely and the best place to be with your loved one.
I love Carmel...
It is also pet friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rose1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2009

I always recommend Vagabond's House Inn to friends and family. I've been coming to the inn for close to 20 years and always find it a place that leaves me feeling rested and happy. The staff is wonderful, particularly Margie, Vickie and Cindy (who fills in sometimes). They are kind, thoughtful, friendly people who go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The decor is lovely in the rooms, lobby and courtyard. I've met the nicest of people over the years who stay at the inn. The wine and cheese hour is something we all look forward to. And they are truly pet-friendly. I can't say enough nice things about it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PekeLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2009

The staff was friendly, our room was around the back of one of the bldgs with a small pond and lots of flowers. The room itself was decorated nicely. Even had cherry in the room. Two plush bathropes for us to use. Very quite.Between 5-7 the office has cheese, crackers and wine for guest to take. The night before you pick what you would like for breakfast from a menu provided then the next morning the breakfast is delivered to your room. It was only 4/5 blocks from restaurants, shopping and the beach. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2009

We just spent one night but wish we had more time! Great place to stay. We were traveling without our kids and were specifically looking for places that were romantic and not designed with kids in mind...this place was perfect. Very quaint and relaxing. We were there for Oscars night and enjoyed the nice TV for viewing...They even called from the front desk to invite us to view the Oscars with some other guests but we declined since we were comfy in our own bed. I thought that was a nice gesture and one that you wouldn't get at a bigger hotel, for sure.
We would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
918 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.3 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#22 of 25 in Carmel
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
626 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#1 of 25 in Carmel
463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carmel Country Inn
Carmel Country Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond's House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond's House Inn

Address: Dolores St & 4th Ave, P.O. Box 2747, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range: $284 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vagabond's House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern amenities and fresh decor define this English Tudor style Bed & Breakfast Boutique Inn and Spa Studio, situated in the heart of Carmel-by-the-Sea. All your favorite coffee drinks from Ristretto and Espresso to Flat White at our complimentary coffee station where we serve fresh-weekly roasted La Donna blend from La Coppa. Have movie night with our over sized flat screen Smart Samsung televisions. You can enjoy our DishTV and NetFlix or cast programming from your cell phone or laptop. Most of our rooms are spacious, with heated marble bathroom floors and marble showers, separate freestanding tubs, double vanities, king bed and bar area. Other rooms include one with a full kitchen (#4) and one with a small jetted tub (#5). All rooms include refrigerator and most include a microwave. Beds sleep like a cloud with high end pillow top mattresses that are topped with feather beds, crisp linens, down filled duvets and down pillows. Feather bed and down can be removed upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Vagabond's House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond`s House Hotel Carmel
Vagabonds Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing