We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
AshaMiller
Sacramento, California

Perfect Getaway

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Nov 14, 2016
Vagabond's House is heavenly and the perfect landing spot for a short weekend trip or a long retreat. The staff is helpful, welcoming, and deeply knowledgeable. The rooms have great character and all the right fixings (the bathtubs! the bed!) -- I haven't felt so relaxed in years. And the location can't be beat. Afternoon wine and morning breakfasts in bed added to the charm, along with the outdoor fireplace to gather. My long weekend there was an absolute dream, and I can't wait to go back.
Date of stay: October 2016
Room Tip: The renovated rooms (abt 1/2 of the rooms) have bigger tubs & a more modern feel
Trip type: Traveled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
$336
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $327
  • Skyscanner.com
    $256
  • Hotels.com
    $327
0.1 miles from Vagabond's House Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
$259
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $259
  • Agoda.com
    $166
  • Hotels.com
    $259
0.2 miles from Vagabond's House Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
$269
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
    $269
  • Vio.com
    $197
  • Priceline
    $200
1.5 miles from Vagabond's House Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
$259
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $259
  • ZenHotels.com
    $207
  • Hotels.com
    $259
1.6 miles from Vagabond's House Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$214
  • Expedia.com
    $228
  • Agoda.com
    $184
  • Priceline
    $196
0.2 miles from Vagabond's House Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pergola and Fire Pit Area with our Beautiful Garden
$156
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $156
  • Agoda.com
    $145
  • Expedia.com
    $166
0.5 miles from Vagabond's House Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
$387
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $425
  • ZenHotels.com
    $331
  • Expedia.com
    $361
4.3 miles from Vagabond's House Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
$639
    4.0 miles from Vagabond's House Inn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Exterior
    • Priceline
      $387
    • ZenHotels.com
      $376
    • travelup.com
      $538
    4.0 miles from Vagabond's House Inn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Carmel
    Reviews (520)
    Filter reviews
    520 results
    Traveler rating
    402
    93
    14
    7
    4
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveler rating
    402
    93
    14
    7
    4
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews fire pit heated bathroom floors breakfast in bed the location is perfect carmel by the sea randall thomas
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    102 - 107 of 520 reviews
    Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

    Highly recommend! If you want charm (reminded us of an English cottage), high standard of furnishings, exceptionally clean and a great location then book it! Breakfast is delivered to your room and the croissants are a must. Complimentary cheese and wine each evening is a very nice touch and it was fun to sit around the fire pit and meet other guests. Friendly, helpful staff and very tastefully decorated throughout. Many restaurants in easy walking distance and a good size carpark too.

    Date of stay: October 2016
    Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    Thank loadert
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed October 29, 2016

    I recently traveled to Vagabond's House Inn with my 3 daughters. We couldn't of been more pleased. We were greeted with wine and snacks by Randal the innkeeper. He was knowledgable, helpful and friendly. It just got better from there. Breakfast was served in our rooms the next morning. Excellent coffee, cereal, bagels, fruit, yogurt and a perfectly cooked soft boiled egg! Next we were greeted by their excellent masseuses and escorted to the spa. We were also thrilled to hear that one of the masseuses was a midwife, the perfect fit for my pregnant daughters. They gave fantastic massages.
    Because of the excellent location we were able to walk to dinner each night and take a beautiful walk to the beach every morning. Sitting by the fire pit in the evenings was a great way to end our day. I highly recommend a stay at the Vagabond's House Inn

    Room tip: We loved room 9. It was recently remodeled and was beautifully done. Creative and tasteful.
    Date of stay: October 2016
    • Trip type: Traveled with family
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank lkdda
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed October 19, 2016

    My husband, dog and I had a wonderful time at this very comfortable B&B! A very generous continental breakfast served in the room and a nice wine and cheese happy hour around the fire pit was icing on the cake. A few blocks from the main street made it quiet but great restaurants were only a few minutes walk away.

    Date of stay: October 2016
    • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank MsLane
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed October 15, 2016

    We had a very nice stay in October in one of the premier king suites. While the property is old, it is charming and quaint and the rooms have been renovated. The bathroom in the king suite is as good as you'll find anywhere, with heated floors as one of the nice perks. There is a wine and cheese time in the afternoon, a good place to chat with some of the other guests. We met some nice folks from Chicago and the Isle of Man (of the coast of the UK). The staff is very friendly and helpful -- Quinn is great -- even though one of the younger ladies on the weekend didn't bother to thank us for visiting. You can get a massage on the property, which is easy walking distance to downtown Carmel (but not to the beach). The only negative to our stay (to no fault of the Inn) was a noisy first night, with cars racing up and down Fourth Street (next to the Inn). The rooms closest to Fourth are No. 10 (upstairs) and 8 (I believe). All the others should be just fine. We stayed in No. 10. Your stay includes breakfast, which is good and fresh but limited -- considering the price of the rooms. All in all, the Vagabond's House Inn is a nice, comfortable place to stay in pricey Carmel.

    Date of stay: October 2016
    • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Keith P
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed October 10, 2016 via mobile

    Absolutely loved this place. So quaint and beautifully fitted out. Clearly a lot of thought and effort has gone into the furniture and fittings here. Walked into the courtyard which is surrounded by lovely flowers and has a fire pit. We were greeted by Quinn who welcomed us, checked us in and showed us to our room. We stayed in room 5 which had a fireplace, massive king size (at least) bed and a single bed behind a curtain. Bathroom had a spa bath and shower. All very high quality and a lot of attention to detail. Wine and cheese is served from 4-6pm in the comfortable reception area. Breakfast is brought to your room at the time you select. Highly recommended!

    Date of stay: October 2016
    Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    1  Thank 931helenp
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews