We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vagabond's House Inn
Ranked #8 of 25 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This B&B is really worth to stay if you are in Carmel or around. The rooms are like small houses that are connected by a beautiful courtyard. Our room was spacious, clean and had a fireplace. On arrival we got a glas of wine and some freshly baked cookies (Thank you Thomas :-) ). The delicious breakfast containing a lot of organic food was served in room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alex183253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 441 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is a well run inn with all the creature comforts travelers enjoy. The rooms are spotless; the staff is welcoming and accommodating; the location allows parking your vehicle and exploring the town and beaches. Even in the summer it got cool but the in-room fireplace took the chill off. Plus, breakfast served in one's room -- well, just idyllic. Wonderful place. Reasonable pricing.

Room Tip: They all seemed lovely. Ours was up and out of the way, with views of the surrounding buildings and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LaurenceBussetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

This location was around alot of great placs to eat. My sister and i were pleased with the breakfast. my room was nice. the bed was comfortable . i appreciated lily's positive costumer service too. ill be back here for sure. keep it up .

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MariaGuad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We just loved it!!! Felt at home, in such a charming and comfy room!! There's no better option in town!! When we go back to Carmel, will DEFINITELY stay there again! It is on an excellent location, you can easily stroll the surroundings

Room Tip: They are all absolutely comfy! Don't worry about choosing a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TOPTRIPDUBAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Had a great time at this unique and cozy inn that’s just a short walk from everything Carmel has to offer. Our room was kitschy and cozy with lots of space to stretch out, comfy bed, fireplace, large TV, huge bathroom with equally huge shower and clawfoot tub. Same room as egdove11, below, and pretty much the same experience—we loved it and would recommend the both the room and the inn. (See my photos.) The Vagabond and pretty much all of Carmel is about as dog friendly as it gets, and while we are not pet owners, we had a great time meeting the wide variety of canine visitors. We did not avail ourselves of the convenient in-room breakfast as we are dedicated carnivores and early risers and there are so many great restaurants nearby. Friendly staff gave us directions to walk to the beach/bay where we took many great photos. Met a local who suggested dinner at Clint Eastwood’s Mission Ranch (see my review) which is a surprisingly quick drive from the inn. All in all, a fabulous two night stay at Vagabond.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OhenryII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The good stuff
****************
Super sweet staff
The cutest lil' courtyard
Bright, clean, comfy rooms
Wine & cheese by the fireplace from 4-6pm. Who doesn't like wine & cheese?!!!
Great value for the price for expensive Carmel (it was cheaper to stay here than Monterey!)

What needs improvement
***************************
Bathrooms need a lil' love/refresh. Clean but a lil' dated.

Tips
******
Park on the street, not in the lot (avoid door dings and dents)


>> I would definitely stay here again. <<

Room Tip: I stayed in the room by the office and it wasn't too bad. Great price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LadyHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights at the Vagabond's House Inn for our anniversary. We found the hotel on TripAdvisor and after comparing it to several others, we decided that it was what we were looking for: small, intimate, walking distance to downtown Carmel (shops, restaurants, galleries, etc.), close to the ocean, breakfast daily and wine and cheese reception in the evening. We spoke with Tom, the manager, on the phone and arranged one of the newly renovated rooms for our getaway. We were welcomed by Randall on arrival and taken to our room. On arrival, we were given a breakfast selection sheet that you could either fill out daily or if you didn't, they would bring the same meal each day. (More on that later). The staff, including housekeepers, were friendly and informative about restaurants and directions.

Walking into our room was a little slice of heaven. An extra large room when you compare it to many other hotels. There was a fireplace on the left and a nice little sofa with footstools at the foot of the bed, along with a nice blanket to cozy up in front of the fire, watch tv, eat breakfast (brought to us each morning). It was chilly when we arrived and we really enjoyed the fire. A lovely bottle of champagne, which we didn't order, was waiting for us also. The bed was beautifully and luxuriously laid out. The room had a small closet and the bed tables doubled as dresser drawers. The closet had a refrigerator in it and mineral water was refilled daily, at no charge. There was also a built in cabinet that had wine glasses, ice bucket, various utensils and helpful items for the stay. The bed was comfortable as was the room as a whole. The window covering was a honeycomb shade that could be raised from the bottom or lowered from the top, which I thought was great because it allowed privacy, yet you could also have natural light in the room. The room was very quiet - we didn't hear anyone the whole time. I don't think there were any children staying at the inn, but if there were, they were especially well behaved

The dressing/bathroom area had the most beautiful rolling farm door that Randal told me had been specially made from found wood and iron for the hotel, which separated the living area from the bathroom. The bathroom had a large claw foot tub, two separate sinks on either side of the dressing area and cushy robes. The extra large shower with marble subway tile as an extra luxury I wasn't expecting and for fun, the curtain over the window in the shower was Edgar Allen Poe's "The Raven". It made the shower experience something different. The water closet was ingeniously wallpapered with pages of old books. So clever! Two other extra touches in the dressing area - heated floors that were timed to come on in the morning and evening, and you could sync your ipod to a blue tooth device that fit in the shower head so you could listen to music while showering. I haven't experienced either of those two exceptional amenities anywhere else. Randal told me they were the first inn to get the Kohler appliance for the music.

The grounds were impeccably maintained with touches of fall around the courtyard, such as ghourds places here and there. The little water feature was a nice addition too. It was too cold to sit outside but there are some nice adirondak chairs and a picnic table in the courtyard for when the weather is warmer.

We only had the wine and cheese the first night on arrival since we were out and about, but there was a nice red and white wine, with several selections of cheese. We perused the many menus in the lobby and talked with Tom about restaurant selections. His suggestions were excellent. The art in the lobby was appealing to us - it is painted on found wood by a local high school art teacher and is for sale. Breakfast was delivered on schedule daily. The options were soft or hard boiled egg, toast, bagel/cream cheese, yogurt/granola, fruit, and a selection of juices and coffee/tea. I may be leaving some items out, but these are items we chose. It was really nice having breakfast in our room and was sufficient to get us through our morning activities.

Parking can be a bit of a challenge, especially when the rental car agency gave us a Ford Expedition because they didn't have the jeep we requested. Street parking on Delores is limited to 2 hours before 10pm (I think), and is 24-hours on 4th Street, but it's hard to find. The hotel does have a small parking lot - maybe 7-8 spaces, which we were able to use most of the time but again, a big vehicle is challenging. We didn't do a lot of driving when we were around town, but we did take the 17-mile drive up to Pebble Beach and the Pacific Grove Light House. The walk to the beach is a steep hill, but it was manageable.

I can't say enough nice things about this getaway. The Vagabonds Home Inn was more than I had hoped for. Thanks to Tom and the rest of the staff who made this such an enjoyable place to stay for our 37th anniversary.

Room Tip: I can highly recommend the recently renovated room #9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank egdove11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
900 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
594 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
620 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carmel Country Inn
Carmel Country Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
627 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carmel Green Lantern Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond's House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond's House Inn

Address: Dolores St & 4th Ave, P.O. Box 2747, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range: $284 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vagabond's House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern amenities and fresh decor define this English Tudor style Bed & Breakfast Boutique Inn and Spa Studio, situated in the heart of Carmel-by-the-Sea. All your favorite coffee drinks from Ristretto and Espresso to Flat White at our complimentary coffee station where we serve fresh-weekly roasted La Donna blend from La Coppa. Have movie night with our over sized flat screen Smart Samsung televisions. You can enjoy our DishTV and NetFlix or cast programming from your cell phone or laptop. Most of our rooms are spacious, with heated marble bathroom floors and marble showers, separate freestanding tubs, double vanities, king bed and bar area. Other rooms include one with a full kitchen (#4) and one with a small jetted tub (#5). All rooms include refrigerator and most include a microwave. Beds sleep like a cloud with high end pillow top mattresses that are topped with feather beds, crisp linens, down filled duvets and down pillows. Feather bed and down can be removed upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Vagabond's House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond`s House Hotel Carmel
Vagabonds Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing