We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Attention to guests and originality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vagabond's House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vagabond's House Inn
Ranked #6 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Assisi, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Attention to guests and originality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

The structure is truly original, there are some steps that lead to a very intimate and romantic open-air lobby. The staff is very courteous and helpful in helping visitors to find the right restaurant, the right shop and give all the necessary information.

A glass of wine on arrival and a lot of kindness.
The rooms are spacious, clean and tastefully decorated with a fireplace and a bottle of sherry offered for the evening after eating at fine restaurants in the area.
The In room breakfast was perfect and gorgeous.

The town is lovely.

I would return for shure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kleren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    80
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
56
278
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Make sure you ask for one of the newly renovated rooms....they are simply lovely. This is a charming, quiet beautifully situated gem of a hotel, in easy walking distance to 95% of what you want to experience in Carmel (it's a long hike to the Mission!) and very worth your time to investigate. There is an embarrassing # of WAYyy above average eateries close by as well---(but, alas, The French Poodle is no more (sad news for old Carmelites and visitors.))

Room Tip: Ask for one of the new architect renovated rooms when you reserve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaPalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at the Vagabond's House Inn in July and really enjoyed it. We had a room with our own patio where we enjoyed breakfast. The room also came with complimentary Sherry which was really nice and there was complimentary wine in the lobby. The staff were very friendly. The location in Carmel is also very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank efleisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great little B&B. and a little romantic even for us grey hairs. Staff gave great advice for restaurants and the trip down Hwy 1. Carmel is a great little town but having the staff pint out the good restaurants and places to see was wonderful. THe front staff even made copied of maps.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdodge2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed at room 8 , one of the renovated rooms , it was beautiful , superb design and the warmest feeling you can ask for .
The only thing they can improve on is the breakfast , not so much selection and hard to eat in the room .

Room Tip: the renovated rooms #8 and 9 are the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkCityMol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 11 and I must admit it was the nicest place I have ever stayed. I consider both my husband and me well traveled and tend to try to stay in the nicest accommodations when we travel. The room was cozy with a fireplace, down king sized bed, and even heated bathroom floors. It's modern decor was luxurious yet charming. I felt like I was staying in a room out of Architectural Digest. The staff was so friendly and knowledgeable about the area! The minute we arrived, they helped us park a large truck and trailer which in Carmel is not easy! The location of the Vagabond's House is great because you can easily walk to the beach, shopping, restaurants but it is not in the center of the crowds. The free wine and cheese from 4-6 PM was an added pleasure as was the high speed Internet and Netflix that was included with our room! If we ever return to Carmel, which I hope we will,we will definitely plan to stay in room 11 again!

Sent from my iPad

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mmcg8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I wish I could have scored this as 4.5, as it really was lovely and only let down by a few small things.

We stayed in room 3, it had been recently renovated and was beautifully done. The bedroom was spacious yet cosey. As a bedroom for adults I couldn't really fault it.

However we were travelling with our 15 month old daughter and it wasn't very practical for a child learning to walk and grabbing on to every piece of furrniture (ie. floor standing lamps, loose glass top on coffee table, telephone and lamp cables running along the floor). This was obviously a problem very specific to us, so I only mention it as a word of caution to other parents thinking of staying there with a child of a similar age.

The courtyard was beautiful, we enjoyed sitting out there in the evenings with a glass of wine and enjoying the waterfall and being close enough to our room to leave our sleeping baby in her cot.

It was great to have a kitchen in which to store some drinks in the fridge, but this was the one part of the room that I felt let it down. It was nice that it retained many of the older features of the property but it somehow felt a little less clean than the rest of the room. Both my husband and I commented that the smell in there was exactly like that of our Grandmothers' kictchens from our childhood, very strange!

The bathroom was very compact, but nicely done and clean.

Breakfast was served in the bedroom. As a couple travelling alone I would have loved this. However with a small child and in particular without a high chair, this was a challenge. I spent each breakfast trying to make sure she didn't drop food on the rugs or under the bed or preventing her from grabbing the coffee cups. Not the most relaxing start to the day! However we found the simple breakfast itself to be very nice.

Overall we very much enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimnem40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#12 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#2 of 26 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond's House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond's House Inn

Property: Vagabond's House Inn
Address: Dolores St & 4th Ave, P.O. Box 2747, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vagabond's House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming English Tudor-style Bed & Breakfast Inn situated in the heart of Carmel Village, 8 blocks from beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Vagabond's House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond`s House Hotel Carmel
Vagabonds Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing