We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vagabond's House Inn
Ranked #12 of 25 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Make sure you ask for one of the newly renovated rooms....they are simply lovely. This is a charming, quiet beautifully situated gem of a hotel, in easy walking distance to 95% of what you want to experience in Carmel (it's a long hike to the Mission!) and very worth your time to investigate. There is an embarrassing # of WAYyy above average eateries close by as well---(but, alas, The French Poodle is no more (sad news for old Carmelites and visitors.))

Room Tip: Ask for one of the new architect renovated rooms when you reserve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CaPalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

200 - 206 of 442 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at the Vagabond's House Inn in July and really enjoyed it. We had a room with our own patio where we enjoyed breakfast. The room also came with complimentary Sherry which was really nice and there was complimentary wine in the lobby. The staff were very friendly. The location in Carmel is also very good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank efleisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great little B&B. and a little romantic even for us grey hairs. Staff gave great advice for restaurants and the trip down Hwy 1. Carmel is a great little town but having the staff pint out the good restaurants and places to see was wonderful. THe front staff even made copied of maps.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdodge2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed at room 8 , one of the renovated rooms , it was beautiful , superb design and the warmest feeling you can ask for .
The only thing they can improve on is the breakfast , not so much selection and hard to eat in the room .

Room Tip: the renovated rooms #8 and 9 are the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewYorkCityMol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 11 and I must admit it was the nicest place I have ever stayed. I consider both my husband and me well traveled and tend to try to stay in the nicest accommodations when we travel. The room was cozy with a fireplace, down king sized bed, and even heated bathroom floors. It's modern decor was luxurious yet charming. I felt like I was staying in a room out of Architectural Digest. The staff was so friendly and knowledgeable about the area! The minute we arrived, they helped us park a large truck and trailer which in Carmel is not easy! The location of the Vagabond's House is great because you can easily walk to the beach, shopping, restaurants but it is not in the center of the crowds. The free wine and cheese from 4-6 PM was an added pleasure as was the high speed Internet and Netflix that was included with our room! If we ever return to Carmel, which I hope we will,we will definitely plan to stay in room 11 again!

Sent from my iPad

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mmcg8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I wish I could have scored this as 4.5, as it really was lovely and only let down by a few small things.

We stayed in room 3, it had been recently renovated and was beautifully done. The bedroom was spacious yet cosey. As a bedroom for adults I couldn't really fault it.

However we were travelling with our 15 month old daughter and it wasn't very practical for a child learning to walk and grabbing on to every piece of furrniture (ie. floor standing lamps, loose glass top on coffee table, telephone and lamp cables running along the floor). This was obviously a problem very specific to us, so I only mention it as a word of caution to other parents thinking of staying there with a child of a similar age.

The courtyard was beautiful, we enjoyed sitting out there in the evenings with a glass of wine and enjoying the waterfall and being close enough to our room to leave our sleeping baby in her cot.

It was great to have a kitchen in which to store some drinks in the fridge, but this was the one part of the room that I felt let it down. It was nice that it retained many of the older features of the property but it somehow felt a little less clean than the rest of the room. Both my husband and I commented that the smell in there was exactly like that of our Grandmothers' kictchens from our childhood, very strange!

The bathroom was very compact, but nicely done and clean.

Breakfast was served in the bedroom. As a couple travelling alone I would have loved this. However with a small child and in particular without a high chair, this was a challenge. I spent each breakfast trying to make sure she didn't drop food on the rugs or under the bed or preventing her from grabbing the coffee cups. Not the most relaxing start to the day! However we found the simple breakfast itself to be very nice.

Overall we very much enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimnem40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night last night. Everything from check in to check out was 100% fabulous. Thomas and partner made us feel very welcome suggesting great places too eat. A glass of great white wine and cheese sat in the courtyard in early evening listening to the fountain was really relaxing. The rooms was fab with a comfortable king bed, great bathroom and small kitchenette. If you're in any doubt about staying here stop doubting it's fabulous!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrummieGirl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
907 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#21 of 25 in Carmel
364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.3 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#14 of 25 in Carmel
331 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#1 of 25 in Carmel
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond's House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond's House Inn

Address: Dolores St & 4th Ave, P.O. Box 2747, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range: $284 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vagabond's House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern amenities and fresh decor define this English Tudor style Bed & Breakfast Boutique Inn and Spa Studio, situated in the heart of Carmel-by-the-Sea. All your favorite coffee drinks from Ristretto and Espresso to Flat White at our complimentary coffee station where we serve fresh-weekly roasted La Donna blend from La Coppa. Have movie night with our over sized flat screen Smart Samsung televisions. You can enjoy our DishTV and NetFlix or cast programming from your cell phone or laptop. Most of our rooms are spacious, with heated marble bathroom floors and marble showers, separate freestanding tubs, double vanities, king bed and bar area. Other rooms include one with a full kitchen (#4) and one with a small jetted tub (#5). All rooms include refrigerator and most include a microwave. Beds sleep like a cloud with high end pillow top mattresses that are topped with feather beds, crisp linens, down filled duvets and down pillows. Feather bed and down can be removed upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vagabond's House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond`s House Hotel Carmel
Vagabonds Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing