We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for our annivesary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vagabond's House Inn
Ranked #7 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect for our annivesary”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We just returned from three glorious days in Camel. The Vagabond's house was absolutely the perfect choice in the perfect location. Our room was spacious including a window seat and fireplace. The breakfasts each morning included fresh fruit as well as your personal selections. Having it brought to your room was perfect. A special thank you to Courtney who made and changed our dinner reservations a few times and even tried to get my husband onto Pebble Beach Golf Course. All the staff were amazingly friendly, accomodating and made you feel that you were"the" most special guest. We have never felt so sad leaving a room or inn as we did that day. We are already trying to figure out how soon we can get back to Carmel and Vagabond's House.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 52sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    81
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
57
284
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, NV
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This was our first time staying at this charming inn and it was wonderful. Thanks to Thomas, Christy, Randall, Carlos, and all the staff for your wonderful service. We brought our dog, Shelby, as well, as this is a very pet-friendly establishment. They arranged for a great pet-sitter for us, Darlene, to stay with Shelby while we went to the Aquarium one day. We were in room 5-A, nice big room, king bed, very comfortable. The fountain runs all day and night, making for a very peaceful atmosphere and a nice sound for sleeping. Breakfast served to our room daily was great. Wine and cheese from 4 to 6 was a nice break, met some other guests our first night there from all over the country and from overseas, which was nice as well. This will be our place to stay on future visits.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debiz4889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahopac, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in early September and found the Vagabond House a wonderful place to stay. Good sized clean comfortable room with a kitchen and beautiful surroundings. Not in the center of town so it was quiet but an easy walk to Ocean Ave. and other attractions. the staff was friendly and helpful and it was nice meeting and talking with other guests. Afternoon wine and cheese and complimentary sherry in the room were nice touches. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartyRandell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at the Vagabond House Inn for two nights in early August as part of our Californian road trip and had a lovely time. It was a pleasure to meet the owner Randell who was very welcoming. Breakfast was lovely as was the cheese and wine by the open fire. A perfect stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
468 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in August. Great place to stay. Breakfast served to your room. Quiet, but close to everything. Room quite spacious and comfortable. And comparatively for Carmel...a great value.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank AaronFWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Complimentary sherry, a lovely room with plenty of space and facilities, welcoming helpful staff. A really charming little place to stay in a truly unique part of the PCH. Highly recommended. Slightly high price but definitely not complaining as Carmel itself is not your average town. Ideal for a stop-over. Definitely visit Flaherty's Seafood Restaurant too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is my favorite place in Carmel !!! People are so helpful and friendly. The room are so cute and cozy, you will feel like just being in your own home:) its so close to downtown, everything just wonderful! What else can I say more? I love this hotel! If you come to Carmel you must stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank faithho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Carmel
Hotel Carmel
#11 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond's House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond's House Inn

Property: Vagabond's House Inn
Address: Dolores St & 4th Ave, P.O. Box 2747, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vagabond's House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming English Tudor-style Bed & Breakfast Inn situated in the heart of Carmel Village, 8 blocks from beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Vagabond's House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond`s House Hotel Carmel
Vagabonds Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing