We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Vagabond Inn, Carmel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vagabond's House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vagabond's House Inn
Ranked #7 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Vagabond Inn, Carmel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Best room at an affordable price. Extremely comfy bed that was turned down and a bottle of Port was opened with two glasses. Breakfast was delivered according to order and was yummy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    80
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
56
280
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed at Vagabobd's for 2 night and were very pleased with everything. The rooms are very nice, all set around a cure little garden that is lit with tiny lights at night. Breakfast is brought to you in your room and you can eat it by the fireplace.
Vagabond's is very close to the main streets and a short walking distance to the beach. On top of that free wifi and great restaurant recommendations make it the perfect place to saty in Carmel.

I just wish we had brought our dog. This must be the most dog friendly town in CA.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank renusp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avoca Beach
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed two nights here in room 7 and 11 and wished we could have stayed longer. It was everything the website promised and more! We loved the STAFF (both guys so helpful and thoughtful) the BREAKFAST (brought to you in your room) the ROOMS ( all different, charming, welcoming and luxurious) the free INTERNET( cost a fortune in most other places) the POSITION (you can walk to restaurants, beach)..... the whole AMBIENCE of the place is special and unique.

Room Tip: Every room delights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniAvocaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

My partner and I stayed three nights at the Vagabond's Inn this month and quite enjoyed it. The room we stayed in was simple (we were offered a different room with a fireplace when we arrived but chose to stay in the room we booked because it had a king-size bed), but well decorated and very clean. I would have liked a more updated bathroom and the view from all our windows didn't provide much privacy (one looked out on the central courtyard and two looked out on the street and a small apartment building across the road), but otherwise the room was more than adequate. I particularly enjoyed our breakfasts, which were served to us in our room; there was quite a bit of selection and even though there was no fruit on the menu, we were served small bowls of it each morning. The staff was quite friendly and Tom, who works in the evenings, was very helpful in recommending places to eat dinner and even called to make sure we could get a table on two nights. Also, the location was very good; our proximity to the town's main street was perfect, being just a few blocks away so we were never disturbed by a lot of people passing in the street, but close enough so that we enjoyed walking to dinner each night. All-in-all, the Vagabond Inn was a very nice place to stay in the charming Carmel-by-the-sea!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheesePleese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

We have been here before and always return when we visit Carmel. Great ambience and service. The gardens are lovely with a charming waterfall. Huge tree in middle of courtyard is lit with tiny lights at night. Breakfast is brought to your room and is luscious! Walking distance to everything including the dog-friendly beach. Our room, #11, was outstanding in every way.

Room Tip: #11, the artists retreat. Quiet, pretty and romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk - Suffolk
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed here for one night with our girls aged 8 and 10.
We booked a couple of hours before we arrived. We were due to arrive in Monterey the next day from a stay in Yosemite, but the dire lack of edible food in Yosemite drove us out a day early.

The staff were very friendly and booked a restaurant for us. The room was beautiful with a log fire and decanter of sherry. Our girls were also made very welcome.

I wish we could have stayed longer

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JemimaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Having just returned from a roadtrip which started in The Argonaut, Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco ending in the Bellagio, Las Vegas, we can honestly say this was our favourite place we stayed. Randall and Stephanie were extremely helpful, informative and overall so hospitable it was a real delight. I had read the reviews and seen the wonderful feedback the team had received and it was all true. The accommodation was superb I think we stayed in Room 1 (Randall please correct me if I'm wrong) - a generous King size, with squeeky clean bathroom, kitchenette and the most amazing sleigh bed and it was the little things that made a difference, one of my favourites being the bottle of sherry available - I was good and didn't drink the whole decanter, but could have! A gas natural effect fire and flat screen TV. I would definitely recommend this hotel, you are also within walking distance to all the shops, galleries, restaurants and beach and the shopping at Macy's etc... is only a short drive away, along with Monterey. Thanks for a wonderful stay Vagabonds!!!!

Room Tip: I think the website speaks for itself and I found it quite easy to see which room I liked and when I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chammond66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#19 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#12 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#3 of 26 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond's House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond's House Inn

Property: Vagabond's House Inn
Address: Dolores St & 4th Ave, P.O. Box 2747, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vagabond's House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming English Tudor-style Bed & Breakfast Inn situated in the heart of Carmel Village, 8 blocks from beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Vagabond's House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond`s House Hotel Carmel
Vagabonds Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing