We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tops all around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terry's Lounge

Terry's Lounge
Ranked #15 of 153 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Miami
Level Contributor
262 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Tops all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Nothing chi chi on the menu, just great quality food in a very quaint setting in the Cypress Inn. One block off the main drag, so a bit more local flavor - or at least people staying at the hotel.

We had lunch adjacent to the bar area, but plenty of seating inside and out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank twhite4809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    82
    21
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great lunch getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I am hesitant in writing this review because this is one of our go to places when the lounge is not busy mid day. We love going there for their amazing soups (made daily), sweet potato fries withering aioli as well as their calamari and hamburgers. We love sitting in the main lounge when it is not busy and linger over our food when we can ( usually though we can't eat the fries and calamari fast enough).

Love it there!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Silvertiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnelian Bay, Ca
Level Contributor
231 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Had four meals here in 24 hours.......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

and each one was a home run! Starting with the afternoon tea service in the front room, then dinner in the upstairs room of the restaurant, with its Moroccan-style decor.

This dinner was fabulous as was the service....sand dabs and NY steak were cooked to perfection, served with well-prepared fresh vegetables and potatoes. But the lamb lollipops....heaven!

The complimentary breakfast buffet served in the lounge was excellent and well stocked with everything from eggs and potatoes, to pastries and fresh fruit.

Before checking out we had to try lunch there after seeing some amazing sandwiches being served. We had a superior cheeseburger with gruyere, served with sweet potato fries, and I had one of the best steak salads ever.

Whether you stay at Cypress Inn or not, Terry's is a great choice for any meal!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank roamingnoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
143 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good thing for Darlene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I have had two experiences at Terry's on a four day trip in Carmel. Fortunately for Terry's, I upgraded by rating from poor based on my disappointing experience last night to good based on the wonderful reception and service from Darlene this morning. Our service last night was slow and our server was clearly in over his head. It took about 20 minutes to get our drinks and another 20 to get the check when we were ready to go. Quite the opposite, I was greeted with a smile and attentive service this morning by Darlene. I was even more impressed that she remembered my fiancé and I are getting married today and even recommended a spot for the ceremony. Her bloody mary's hit the spot!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prosper, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Had a great dinner of the local fish, sand da (the sauce was to die for) Also enjoyed watching the dogs parade by. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TXNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terry's Lounge also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Terry's Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing