We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had four meals here in 24 hours.......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terry's Lounge

Terry's Lounge
Ranked #12 of 156 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Carnelian Bay, Ca
Level Contributor
220 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Had four meals here in 24 hours.......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

and each one was a home run! Starting with the afternoon tea service in the front room, then dinner in the upstairs room of the restaurant, with its Moroccan-style decor.

This dinner was fabulous as was the service....sand dabs and NY steak were cooked to perfection, served with well-prepared fresh vegetables and potatoes. But the lamb lollipops....heaven!

The complimentary breakfast buffet served in the lounge was excellent and well stocked with everything from eggs and potatoes, to pastries and fresh fruit.

Before checking out we had to try lunch there after seeing some amazing sandwiches being served. We had a superior cheeseburger with gruyere, served with sweet potato fries, and I had one of the best steak salads ever.

Whether you stay at Cypress Inn or not, Terry's is a great choice for any meal!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank roamingnoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    77
    20
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
128 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good thing for Darlene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I have had two experiences at Terry's on a four day trip in Carmel. Fortunately for Terry's, I upgraded by rating from poor based on my disappointing experience last night to good based on the wonderful reception and service from Darlene this morning. Our service last night was slow and our server was clearly in over his head. It took about 20 minutes to get our drinks and another 20 to get the check when we were ready to go. Quite the opposite, I was greeted with a smile and attentive service this morning by Darlene. I was even more impressed that she remembered my fiancé and I are getting married today and even recommended a spot for the ceremony. Her bloody mary's hit the spot!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prosper, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Had a great dinner of the local fish, sand da (the sauce was to die for) Also enjoyed watching the dogs parade by. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TXNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“So Many Great Things to Say About Terry's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

First there is the ambiance. Located in the Cypress Inn which is a landmark in Carmel, Terry's extends from a cozy dark bar out onto one of the pleasant patios of the hotel. The drink menu has so many fun cocktails like Lemon Drop Martinis and a good selection of wines and beer. It also includes memorable factoids about old time stars like Dean Martin who advised folks not to drink and drive, don't even putt (gotta love that guy!).
We had a couple of the appetizers, crab cakes and a salad, which were excellent and are a good value. Next time, I'm going to order the sweet potato french fries which were served in a stylish paper cone. The dinner menu has something for everyone, from burgers to fish, and is also reasonably priced.
The service is polite and prompt and you are welcome to bring your well-behaved pooch to sit with you - in fact if you don't have a dog, you might want to borrow one. The staff sincerely loves dogs!
There is also entertainment in the formal living room of the hotel. The evening we were there, a jazz trio was playing in front of the fireplace.
We had a great time and will definately visit again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank expat326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Loved it so much we ate there twice in 2 days!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband, son (16) and I were in Carmel for just 2 days in July 2013. We were advised to try the Cypress Inn (Terry's Lounge) for lunch and were very impressed. There was a great range of food to please our different fussy tastes and an extensive list of beers and wines to try and all in a relaxed and beautiful setting. The tables are set out in a bar area, a lobby style area and in an open courtyard.

We were in Carmel for the July 4th holiday weekend and, given how busy the the whole area was, we ended up dining again at Terry's Lounge' for dinner as well. The dinner menu did not disappoint either and there was live entertainment making for great evening out. I would definitely recommend including a visit to the Cypress Inn and Terry's Lounge if you ever get to visit Carmel by the Sea.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aussieholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terry's Lounge also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Terry's Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing