We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good Italian Cuisine!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro Giovanni

Bistro Giovanni
Ranked #42 of 156 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: When it comes to full-flavor California-Mediterranean cuisine, just one restaurant comes to mind: Bistro Giovanni, a signature Firok Shield restaurant with exceptional food, gorgeous murals adorning the walls, and unpretentious service.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
185 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good Italian Cuisine!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have been visiting Carmel for years. We have seen this restaurant many times, but never tried it until this visit. We were glad we did. The welcome and service were first rate. We sat at a table near the window, I think all the locals dine in the dining room! We had a view of the beautiful wall painting, with great music playing. We had bread with sundried tapenade and a salad to start, the best local sea bass of our trip and chicken piccata (good but the sea bass was better). We enjoyed the atmosphere and were treated like longterm customers! We will definitely return on our next visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    65
    21
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We checked TA for suggestions and the previous reviews were spot on. Very pleasant atmosphere, delightful and professional staff, varied and tasty Italian menu. Very comfortable, relaxed atmosphere. Sand dabs were a special and were delicious. Two of us enjoyed the linguine with clams served in a noteworthy sauce. Salads were fresh and crisp. Prices were fair. I recommend it highly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mauibird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
176 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Friendly Neighborhood Italian Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Berto was our server. He was very knowledgeable of the menu. Food was very good. They allowed us to sit anywhere we wanted. Were quick to pick up empty plates and bring bread with a sundried tomato tepanade. Berth also told us of their other restaurants in town offering breakfast.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank diannespain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuickSilver12, Owner at Bistro Giovanni, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thanks so much for your cheery review! We are delighted to read that you had a good experience at Bistro Giovanni. Just the way we want it to be for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food and Friendly Environment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I really enjoyed my dinner in this restaurant. The halibut was wonderful and the service was exceptional. The wine list is very nice and the Tawney Port was great.

I would definitely put this on my list of places to go back to next time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuickSilver12, Owner at Bistro Giovanni, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thanks so much for selecting our restaurant as a place to dine while in Carmel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your meal and will be back if ever in town again. Safe travels back to Spokane!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Loved this little out of the way place. Not on Ocean, but only a block and half and a quieter street. Great Italian selections with something for everyone to choose from. We had the chicken cacciatore and the shrimp with risotto and mushrooms. The mushroom soup that came first was delicious and we wanted dessert but just couldn't find the room!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank goldcogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Giovanni also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Bistro Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing